Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Using UB Special Collections & Archives

This guide provides resources for students, researchers, and instructors who are new to archival research or new to using the UB Special Collections & Archives.

Digital Exhibits at UB Special Collections & Archives

What is a Digital Exhibit?

The goal of a digital exhibit is to facilitate education and outreach by providing a curated selection of materials in addition to extensive contextual information about the subject that ties the items together.

 

 A Digital Exhibit Can:

  • Showcase selected materials from one collection
  • Delve deeper into specific historical topics and incorporate more than one collection
  • Help commemorate events or anniversaries
  • Document a community's history
  • Provide educational opportunities for students and other users

While we also digitize collection materials when patrons submit requests, and make individual items or folders of items available online through our finding aid database, our curated exhibits are made up of selected collection materials that are described and formatted to provide additional access, context, and education.

Omeka for Digital Exhibits

What is Omeka?

Omeka is an online content management system that provides access to digital materials through robust digital exhibits. Similar to tools such as WordPress.com, Omeka serves as a web publishing platform designed to share unique digital collections using templates and forms in a user-friendly interface. Omeka also allows us to make our materials more accessible (and findable) online with rich metadata.

There are several different versions of Omeka, such as Omeka S, Omeka Classic, and Omeka.net. Each has a few different variations and customization capabilities. Omeka was originally created by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media with funding from multiple organizations. Today, Omeka is a Digital Scholar project.

UB Special Collections & Archives uses Omeka.net to make our digitized archival collection materials available through curated online exhibits. 

We work with Guest Curators, Interns, Students, Fellows, and others to curate our online exhibits.
If you are interested in curating a digital exhibit using Special Collections & Archives materials, please contact us!

Using Omeka.net

Are you a guest curator ready to start using Omeka.net for your project?
Get Started with Tutorials:
Then, Schedule a Tutorial Appointment with an Archivist at UB Special Collections & Archives

Interested in learning more about digital exhibits, digital humanities, social sciences, and other web publishing tools?