Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Using UB Special Collections & Archives

This guide provides resources for students, researchers, and instructors who are new to archival research or new to using the UB Special Collections & Archives.

Baltimore Regional Studies Collections

Baltimore Regional Studies 

The Baltimore Regional Studies Archives collects, preserves, and provides equal access to collections related to the making of modern Baltimore, particularly through the records of 20th century philanthropic, civic, nonprofit, and quasi-governmental institutions, as well as the collections of local individuals. The collection strengths include urban planning and architecture; economic development; neighborhood oral histories; community association records; local television history; Baltimore area nonprofits; and community organizing, particularly related to the issues of education, housing, and highway construction. Areas of collection development include civil rights; women’s liberation; lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender rights; labor organizing movements; and documentation on a greater number of Baltimore City neighborhoods.

  Visit the UB Special Collections & Archives website to learn more about the Baltimore Regional Studies Archives.
  A number of collections also include digitized materials which are available in our digital exhibits and through our collection finding aids.

  Visit the links below to search our digital exhibits and digitized collection material.

Collection Strengths and Notable Subjects

The list of links below can help you get started researching using primary sources related to these subject areas, but be sure to do your own search in the Collections Database to narrow down your results