Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Using UB Special Collections & Archives

This guide provides resources for students, researchers, and instructors who are new to archival research or new to using the UB Special Collections & Archives.

Access During Fall 2020 and the COVID-19 Pandemic

Special Access Note: 
Due to public health concerns with the spread of COVID-19, the Special Collections & Archives Research Room is currently closed. Onsite research appointments and walk-in services are unavailable at this time. Researchers can submit requests for documents remotely through our Scan on Demand service. Archives staff continue to provide online services during normal business hours: Monday - Friday, 9 am - 5 pm

For assistance with reference and research questions, accessing collection materials, or preparing remote instruction, please use this guide, search our FAQs or fill out our question form.

Planning Your Visit

Schedule Your Research Appointment in Advance
To schedule your visit to the UB Special Collections & Archives, please request an appointment using our online form at least 48 hours in advance of your visit. We monitor all research and appointment requests and will reply promptly. We are open Monday through Friday, 9 AM to 5 PM. Archives staff reserves the right to require that walk-in visitors reschedule their research for a future date. 

The Research Room
Separate from work spaces and collections stacks areas, the Research Room is where researchers will work directly with a reference archivist to view the collections they have requested. Because our collections are unique, no materials may leave the research room, and visitors may not browse the stacks.

What to Bring 

  • Photo ID
  • Pencil, paper, laptop
  • Camera (or phone camera)
  • USB drive

 

When You Arrive

map marker  We are located at: H. Mebane Turner Learning Commons, Room 104, 1415 Maryland Ave. Baltimore, MD 21201

  • When you arrive at the UB Special Collections & Archives office, the Research Room will be located to your right around the corner near the lockers.
  • On arrival please be sure to check-in with the archives staff. A department staff person will assist you throughout your visit.
  • You will need to leave all personal belongings except camera, notebook and laptops in the secure lockers located in the hallway. No bags, pens, food, or drink are allowed in the Research Room.
  • If you do not finish your research in one visit, please let us know and we can place your materials on hold for your next visit.

In the Research Room

Accessing Collections
A department staff member will assist you during your visit to the Research Room. Special Collections and Archives materials are non-circulating and can be viewed only in the Research Room. Access to some material is limited by donor restrictions, privacy concerns, legal requirements and/or the physical condition of the material. For additional details, please read our full Access PolicyFor more information about collections restrictions, please see our Restrictions Policy.

Conditions Regarding Collections Use
Researchers will be granted access to all unrestricted materials in accordance with the rules and policies of the UB Special Collections & Archives. Researchers using archival collection materials, including processed and unprocessed collections, may come into contact with items that contain sensitive information about individuals and/or organizations, and must understand and agree not to copy, publish, present, disseminate, or convey this information to anyone by any means. (Examples of sensitive information include, but are not limited to, social security numbers, dates of birth, driver’s license numbers, health records, legal records, financial information, etc.). When researchers find any sensitive information during their research or are unsure if information they have found is private or sensitive, they agree to request that the archivist or research room attendant assist them.

Handling and Using Collections
Archival collections are by their nature unique, and often delicate. Please handle our collections materials with care.

  • Department staff may require that gloves be worn when handling some fragile or easily damaged materials.
  • Please keep all materials in the original boxes, folders and order in which they were received.
  • Do not mark, write on, or damage materials.
  • Use only a pencil or laptop for your personal note taking; no pens.

Scanning and Taking Photographs

  • Photographing collection material is allowed without using a flash on your phone or camera.
  • The free use of a self-service scanner is available in the Research Room. Please bring a USB drive or plan to email scans to yourself.
  • If specialized scanning or digital reproduction requires external vendors, the researcher will be required to pay for these services.
  • We cannot provide onsite photocopying and can only provide printing services to UB students, faculty and staff.

Citing Collection Materials for Your Research
Material from Special Collections and Archives may be quoted or reproduced for personal and educational purposes, provided appropriate credit is given. Any commercial use of this material is prohibited without prior permission. When material from our archival collections is used in either manner, please use the prescribed form of citation:
[Document name, date; collection name; series number, box number, folder title]; University of Baltimore Special Collections and Archives.

For audiovisual materials, please use the following credit line:
[Collection Name], University of Baltimore Special Collections and Archives. 

For more information, access our full Citation Policy.