Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Using UB Special Collections & Archives

This guide provides resources for students, researchers, and instructors who are new to archival research or new to using the UB Special Collections & Archives.

The WMAR-TV Collection

About the Collection

The WMAR-TV Collection includes 4,000 reels of 16mm film, 300 reels of 1- and 2-inch videotape, 139 linear feet of 2,185 videocassettes (including VHS, U-matic, U-matic S, VHS, and Betacam SP), and 101 DVDs documenting local television news footage and special programs from the WMAR-TV station in Baltimore, Maryland created and aired between 1948 and 1993. 

This extensive broadcast news collection provides insight into the social, cultural, political, and economic trends of everyday life and events around Baltimore City and the state of Maryland during the mid to late 20th century.

The collection has been housed at and managed by UB Special Collections & Archives since 1984. The finding aid for the collection provides access to description of the television programs and documentaries in the collection.

Accessing the Collection and Digitized Materials

Digitized footage from this collection is available online through the Internet Archive for streaming access, through the collection finding aid, and through several digital exhibits.

Use and Citation Information

Conditions Governing Collection Access

The WMAR-TV Collection is open for research. Material from the collection may be viewed in the Special Collections Research Room. Some items may have access limitations due to physical format. Some footage from the the collection has been digitized and made available online for streaming through the Internet Archive and is available through the collection finding aid. Please note that not all footage has been digitized.

Conditions Governing Collection Use

Material from the collection is available for onsite use in the Special Collections & Archives Research Room by appointment only. All requests for digitization and duplication services require written permission from WMAR-TV in advance. WMAR must handle licensing and rights. Please contact Special Collections for more information.

Additional Use and Citation Information