Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Using UB Special Collections & Archives

This guide provides resources for students, researchers, and instructors who are new to archival research or new to using the UB Special Collections & Archives.

Collecting Areas and Collections Resources

Baltimore Regional Studies 
The Baltimore Regional Studies Archives collects, preserves, and provides equal access to collections related to the making of modern Baltimore, particularly through the records of 20th century philanthropic, civic, nonprofit, and quasi-governmental institutions, as well as the collections of local individuals. Use this page to learn about our collection strengths, areas of growths, and specific topics that may be of interest to you.

University Archives 
The University Archives selects, preserves, and makes accessible records of enduring administrative, fiscal, legal, and historic value to the University of Baltimore, and provides services to support the administrative, teaching, research, and service interests of the University. Use this page to learn about our collection strengths and specific topics that may be of interest to you.

Digital Exhibits and Digitized Collections
A number of collections from the Baltimore Regional Studies Archives and University Archives have been selected for digitization and used in digital exhibits. This page provides access to these digitized materials through links to the exhibits and collections finding aids.

Oral History Collections
The Baltimore Regional Studies Archives and University Archives both contain oral history collections which include recorded audio interviews and text interview transcripts, reports, and documentation. This page provides access to these collections through links to collections finding aids and digital exhibits.

WMAR-TV Collection
The WMAR-TV Collection includes 4,000 reels of 16mm film, 300 reels of 1- and 2-inch videotape, 139 linear feet of 2,185 videocassettes (including VHS, U-matic, U-matic S, VHS, and Betacam SP), and 101 DVDs documenting local television news footage and special programs from the WMAR-TV station in Baltimore, Maryland created and aired between 1948 and 1993. Use this page to learn more about the collection and how to access digitized collection footage.

Pullen Collection of Baltimore Local History Resources
The Pullen Collection includes books, movies, pamphlets, recordings, and other resources related to Baltimore local history topics. The Pullen Collection also includes materials related to U.S. history and community activism that were donated to UB Special Collections & Archives. These items are non-circulating and are available for use in the Research Room.

Lineage Organizations Collections
The Hereditary and Lineage Organization Collections at the UB Special Collections & Archives preserves family history records contained in the membership files of national lineage organizations, as well as the organizational records of those associations. Some collections have access restrictions which limit their use to members only, or with written permission of the society. Use this page to learn more about these collections.

View the Stacks

General Collections Stacks

The WMAR-TV Collection