LibGuides: Business: Customers

Databases and Websites for Customer Research

Mintel Market Reports
What you’ll find here: Market and consumer research on European, British, and U.S. markets. It includes information on products, brands, and industry trends. Requires acceptance of terms of use and registration using your ubalt.edu email address.
How to search this database: Read the Mintel User Guide.
PolicyMap
What you’ll find here: a U.S. national data and mapping tool allowing users to create custom demographic maps, tables, and reports. Available data includes demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, school performance scores, labor data such as unemployment, and crime statistics, such as city crime rates. Use PolicyMap to create compelling maps of up to five layers, export trend charts with key benchmarks, download data for use in other tools, generate on-the-fly reports, and upload your own data to view it with ours.
How to search this database: Visit the PolicyMap Tutorial Page.
Check out this Video and Guide QuickStart Video and Guide

Explore Census Data
The U.S. Census' one-stop place for finding and modifying data tables. Start with an advanced or guided search for industry and add other filters as needed.
Consumer Expenditure Survey
This website provides information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics.
Baltimore Neighborhood Indicators Alliance
Browse 8 vital signs to get information on Baltimore City neighborhoods.
Pew Internet and American Life Project
This nonpartisan research center provides data and reports on topics related to technology users, mobile phones, social networking and more.

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
What you’ll find here: Provides a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. You can browse or search for data tables, and download them as a pdf or XLS spreadsheet.
How to search this database: Visit their guide page.