Business

What you’ll find here: Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles that focus on business, management, government and public policy. This is a great resource if you’re looking for news and trends, company financial information, or management practice and theory.
How to search this database: Look at the ProQuest help page.

What you’ll find here: Expanded version of Academic Search Complete. Newspaper, magazine, trade publication and scholarly journal articles covering a wide variety of topics. This is a broad, general database and a great starting place for information about almost any topic, ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
How to search this database: Look at the EBSCOhost help page.

What you’ll find here: Digital version of the Baltimore Business Journal newspaper, featuring local business news of the Baltimore metropolitan region. Great resource for current news on healthcare, banking, real estate, technology, and food & lifestyle. Includes the Book of Lists.
Get access by creating a free account with your ubalt.edu email address here.

What you’ll find here: Sample real-life business plans from small businesses in a variety of industries. They can be useful templates for business plans in general or for specific information of different types of businesses.
How to search this database: Look at these video tutorials.

What you’ll find here: Expanded version of Business Source Premier. Magazine, newspaper, trade publication, and journal articles focused on business as well as industry reports and other business-related resources. When you need in-depth information on business and industry, this is a great place to turn.
How to search this database: Look at the EBSCOhost help page.

What you'll find here: The number of employees, payroll figures, and the number of companies in various industries based on selected U.S. counties and states. The industries are defined by NAICS codes, and it's possible to look up the information based on ZIP codes.
How to search this database: There are a number of links on the database's home page that can provide assistance.

What you’ll find here: Journal articles, books, reviews, working papers, and dissertations focusing on economics.
How to search this database: Look at the EBSCOhost help page.

What you'll find here: General, financial, and leadership information for U.S. nonprofit entities. Much of the information is self-reported by the institutions. The database values transparency and openness and includes a "legitimacy" rating for the nonprofits. It offers information on a segment of businesses not often covered in other databases. Sign up for a free account to access more information.
How to search this database: View one of the video tutorials included on the database's home page.

What you’ll find here: Detailed information on companies, industries, and key executives. Company financials, products, competitors, and histories are also available.
How to search this database: Look at the ProQuest help page.

What you’ll find here: Market research reports for a wide variety of United States industries. These reports offer a look at the industry's performance and outlook, competitive landscape, and key statistics among other information.
How to search this database: Refer to the IBISWorld Help Center..

PLEASE NOTE: This database has been replaced by the database Nexis Uni. Please look under N or click on Visit Nexis Uni.

What you’ll find here: Detailed information on both U.S. and international companies. It includes stock market information, executive lists, product and competitor information, and financial information.
How to search this database: Visit the Mergent help page.

What you’ll find here: Market and consumer research on European, British, and U.S. markets. It includes information on products, brands, and industry trends. Requires acceptance of terms of use and registration using your ubalt.edu email address.
How to search this database: Read the Mintel User Guide.

Library no longer subscribes to this resource. For similar content, please see S&P Capital IQ

What you’ll find here: a U.S. national data and mapping tool allowing users to create custom demographic maps, tables, and reports. Available data includes demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, school performance scores, labor data such as unemployment, and crime statistics, such as city crime rates. Use PolicyMap to create compelling maps of up to five layers, export trend charts with key benchmarks, download data for use in other tools, generate on-the-fly reports, and upload your own data to view it with ours.
How to search this database: Visit the PolicyMap Tutorial Page.
Check out this Video and Guide QuickStart Video and Guide

What you’ll find here: Provides a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. You can browse or search for data tables, and download them as a pdf or XLS spreadsheet.
How to search this database: Visit their guide page.

What you’ll find here: Articles from regional business and legal newspapers throughout the U.S. and Canada. It includes The Daily Record, Baltimore's daily business and legal newspaper. These publications can sometimes provide more detailed coverage of the businesses in their area than the larger daily and national newspapers.
How to search this database: Look at the EBSCOhost help page.

What you'll find here: Articles from one of the most widely read and respected daily newspapers from 1984 to the present. Although its articles touch on a wide variety of topics, the paper's focus is on national and international economic news.
How to search this database: Look at the ProQuest help page.