LibGuides: Access to Mental Health Services: Public Policy

Places to Search

PolicyMap

What you’ll find here: a U.S. national data and mapping tool allowing users to create custom demographic maps, tables, and reports. Available data includes demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, school performance scores, labor data such as unemployment, and crime statistics, such as city crime rates. Use PolicyMap to create compelling maps of up to five layers, export trend charts with key benchmarks, download data for use in other tools, generate on-the-fly reports, and upload your own data to view it with ours.
How to search this database: Visit the PolicyMap Tutorial Page.
Check out this Video and Guide QuickStart Video and Guide

Nexis Uni

This database has replaced LexisNexis Academic, with the same access to: Magazine, newspaper, and journal articles and information on various people, businesses, and countries. It also contains federal and state codes and case law. It features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
How to search this database: Visit the Nexis Uni help page.

Policy Commons

What you'll find here: the largest and most comprehensive content-and-discovery repository for public policy research. It includes reports, policy briefs, media, articles, datasets, blog posts, and other content, from thousands of IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and research organizations from around the world.

ABI/INFORM Global

What you’ll find here: Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles that focus on business, management, government and public policy. This is a great resource if you’re looking for news and trends, company financial information, or management practice and theory.
How to search this database: Look at the ProQuest help page.

Academic OneFile (Gale)

Gale Academic OneFile: provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources and covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences. Also included are thousands of podcasts and videos.

Articles

Baltimore City Policies and Initiatives.
Including information on Healthy Baltimore 2020, a blueprint for health in the city, and focuses on "upstream" interventions: tackling the issues that will most significantly impact the health of the residents and address them as early as possible; funding and grants; and Equal Employment Opportunity Plan Utilization Report.
Behavioral Health and Criminal Justice Partnership in Maryland – MHAM.
The Behavioral Health and Criminal Justice Partnership (BHCJP) was created by House Bill 990 in 2005. The group meets regularly to improve services for individuals with mental health and substance use disorders who become involved with the criminal justice system. The partnership includes over 40 active members representing state agencies, local behavioral health authorities, local law enforcement, advocates, and behavioral health service providers.
Building a Successful Public-Academic Partnership to Support State Policy Making.
This article describes a partnership between the Maryland Mental Hygiene Administration (MHA) and the Division of Psychiatric Services Research, Department of Psychiatry, University of Maryland School of Medicine, that has implemented several evidence-based and emerging practices, such as supported employment, family psychoeducation, assertive community treatment, treatment for co-occurring mental and substance use disorders, and services for transition-age youths.
Equal treatment MD: Access to Quality Mental Health and Important Legislation to Support Marylanders in Need of Mental Health and Substance Use Care.
Maryland Behavioral Health Coalition launched Equal Treatment Maryland, a new campaign to ensure access to quality mental health and substance use care when and where needed.Campaign partners rallied successfully this year around the 2023 Behavioral Health Crisis Prevention Platform – a set of community-based reforms and workforce initiatives designed to improve behavioral health outcomes, save money, and keep people out of crisis.
Maryland’s Shared Leadership Approach to Mental Health Transformation: Partnerships That Work.
In 2005, Maryland received a mental health transformation grant from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. Maryland’s transformation efforts have differed from those in other grantee states and have evolved into a shared leadership approach that harnesses the power of leaders from all sectors of the community. The article describes Maryland’s reform efforts, focusing in particular on the development of the position of a peer employment specialist to improve placement of consumers in employment.
MHAM Bill List.
A list of Mental Health Association of Maryland 2023 Bills.