LibGuides: Access to Mental Health Services: Criminal Justice

Places to Search

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text

What you’ll find here: Magazine and journal articles, books, conference material, and reviews focused on criminology and related disciplines. These include law enforcement, courts, victims, and juvenile delinquency.
How to search this database: Look at the EBSCOhost help page.

Criminal Justice Database

What you’ll find here: Magazine, trade publication, and journal articles from criminal justice journals worldwide. It also features reports and books.
How to search this database: Look at the ProQuest help page.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database

What you’ll find here: Summaries of journal articles and other resources dealing with criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse. Many of these are produced by various bureaus and offices of the U.S. Department of Justice, so government information is a strength of this database.
How to search this database: Take the database’s online tutorial.

Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile)

Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice informs the research process for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism, training for paralegal service, preparing for a career in homeland security, delving into forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, going to court, writing sociological reports, and much more.

LegalTrac (Gale OneFile)

Gale OneFile: LegalTrac provides indexing for major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, including titles in full text. The American Association of Law Libraries not only endorses LegalTracits special advisory committee selects, reviews, and enhances the content of this resource. The database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.

Articles

Mean Streets and Mental Health: Depression and Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder at Crime Hot Spots.
This study explores the relationship between mental health and place at microgeographic units of analysis. They examine self‐reported symptomology for depression and PTSD for 2,724 survey respondents interviewed in three types of randomly selected street segments: violent crime hot spots, cool spots, and cold spots.
Individuals Found Not Criminally Responsible on Account of Mental Disorder: Are We Providing Equal Protection and Equivalent Access to Mental Health Services Across Canada?
The article talks about individuals, who are found not criminally responsible on account of mental disorder (NCRMD) and whether they are being provided equal protection and equivalent access to mental health services across Canada.
The Eleventh Judicial Circuit Criminal Mental Health Project: Improving Access to Mental Health Treatment in Miami-Dade County.
The Eleventh Judicial Circuit Criminal Mental Health Project (CMHP), a court-based jail diversion program, was established to divert individuals with serious mental illness from the criminal justice system into treatment and support services. The CMHP’s success is built on collaboration among a diverse array of community stakeholders. This column describes the establishment and maintenance of these partnerships.
Race and Access to Mental Health and Substance Abuse Treatment in the Criminal Justice System.
This article looks at racial disparities in treatment for substance abuse/mental illness in the justice system by interviewing Parole Officers (POs). POs report financial and cultural barriers to mental health treatment for most parolees, but suggest that substance abuse treatment is adequate. Inadequacies regarding culturally competent providers are noted, and these inadequacies may affect retention and success in treatment.
Screening and Access to Services for Individuals With Serious Mental illnesses in Jails.
High rates of serious mental illnesses (SMI) among jail inmates pose challenges for the criminal justice system and risks for the individual with SMI. Research has identified actions to address these issues; it is unclear to what extent they have been operationalized. This study examines jails in one state, exploring how individuals with SMI are identified and treated, and comparing these with research-based recommendations.