LibGuides: Access to Mental Health Services: Education

Places to Search

Chronicle of Higher Education

What you’ll find here: Full access to The Chronicle of Higher Education, one of the best resources for news and information about colleges, universities, and collegiate-level education. It also contains job listings and access to premium content.
How to search this database: To get full text access to all articles from any device, create a free account on their website using your ubalt.edu email address. If you need more help, visit The Chronicle of Higher Education’s help page.

Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile)

Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete is a collection of journals & periodicals that seeks to provide full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialtysuch as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.

ERIC

What you’ll find here: Articles and other documents from journals and other publications focused on education. It is one of the most popular and useful resources for material on education at all levels.
How to search this database: Look at the EBSCOhost help page.

Articles

The Effect of Social Networks and Social Support on Mental Health Services Use, Following a Life Event, among the Baltimore Epidemiologic Catchment Area Cohort.
The study examined the association between life events and mental health services use, accounting for social networks and social support. Main and stress-buffering effects were estimated using longitudinal data from the Baltimore Epidemiologic Catchment Area cohort (1,920 participants in 1993-1996, of whom 1,071 were re-interviewed in 2004-2005).
School Mental Health and Prevention Science in the Baltimore City Schools
This article provides background on school mental health (SMH) programs in Baltimore, MD, and efforts to integrate evidence-based preventive interventions into the schools served by these programs. It describes the triangular model of SMH promotion, building at the base from environment and relationship enhancement, followed by universal and selective prevention, efforts taken at each of these levels, challenges experienced, and ideas for overcoming challenges.