Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

9/11: Twenty Years After

Remember and research the terrorist attacks on September 11, 2001 and the events that followed.

From UBalt Special Collections & Archives

Learn about University of Baltimore student reactions to the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks with the UB Post published October 17, 2001, courtesy of The University of Baltimore Special Collections & Archives. The student newspaper contains two articles and a collection of community reactions related to 9/11:

  • "The Aftermath of Terror: UB Faculty and Students Awakened by the Events of September 11." (pages 10-12)
  • "A Collection of Thoughts From Around the UB Campus" (pages 10-12)
  • "Every Coin Has Two Sizes: Another Student Commentary on September 11, 2001" (page 11)

Search the WMAR-TV Collection using the finding aid to identify news footage related to 9/11.
Contact UBalt Special Collections & Archives with any questions regarding digitization and access

On September 11, 2002, The University of Baltimore Community Gathered to Dedicate a New 9/11 Memorial Garden in Gordon Plaza.

Read about the dedication of the memorial in the October 17, 2002 edition of the UB Post 
 
  If you are interested in visiting the memorial, go to Gordon Plaza on the campus of The University of Baltimore. If you are facing the Edgar Allan Poe Statue, the 9/11 Memorial Garden is to the left.

 

 

Digital Archives, Projects, Collections, & Exhibits

  September 11, 2001, Documentary Project

The September 11, 2001 Documentary Project from the Library of Congress, captures the reactions, eyewitness accounts, and diverse opinions of Americans and others in the months that followed the terrorist attacks on the World Trade Center, the Pentagon, and United Airlines Flight 93.

The September 11 Digital Archive, created by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media, collected, preserves, and presents the history of September 11, 2001 and its aftermath through electronic media formats. The Archive contains more than 150,000 digital items, including more than 40,000 emails and other electronic communications, more than 40,000 first-hand stories and accounts of the events, and more than 15,000 digital images. In September 2003, the Library of Congress accepted the Archive into its collections.

Understanding 9/11: A Television News Archive 
The 9/11 Television News Archive is a collections of television news coverage of the events of 9/11/2001 and their aftermath as presented by U.S. and international news broadcasters. It is a resource for scholars, journalists, and the public; it presents one week of news broadcasts for study, research and analysis. This site will also include an online event on Sept. 9, 2021, in the form of an online webinar, Reflecting on 9/11: Twenty Years of Archived TV News in which participants will discuss the importance of archived television as a source for understanding history.

The National Archives and Records Administration provides online access to the 9/11 Commission Records. The Commission was a bipartisan national commission created by Congress. The Commission's mandate was to provide a "full and complete accounting" of the attacks of September 11, 2001 and to provide recommendations as to how to prevent further attacks in the future. The Commission closed in 2004 and all records were transferred to the National Archives.

The full 9/11 Commission Report is also available online.

September 11, 2001: Attack on America are a collection of documents from September 11, 2001 and after including official memos, statements, and proclamations from government entities and news organizations. This resource was created by the Law School Lillian Goldman Law Library's The Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy which includes extensive document collections regarding diplomacy and legal events throughout history.

The George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum provides a list of selected research resources, some of which are from the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum, that provide information about the terrorist attacks against the United States on September 11, 2001.

 

The National Security Archive was created in 1985 by journalists and scholars to check rising government secrecy, the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents, and more. Additionally, the National Security Archive provides The September 11th Sourcebooks in order to make accessible the primary sources and official documentation related to the terrorist attacks in order to serve policy creation, journalism, and education.