This page describes the scope of the Baltimore Regional Studies collections at the Special Collections and Archives. Here, you can learn about our collection strengths, areas of growths, and specific topics that may be of interest to you. Learn about digital exhibits that highlight the Baltimore studies collections. Click on the links for access to lists of collections organized by subject.
Baltimore Studies Archives
The Baltimore Studies Archives collects, preserves, and provides equal access to collections related to the making of modern Baltimore, particularly through the records of 20th century philanthropic, civic, nonprofit, and quasi-governmental institutions, as well as the collections of local individuals. The collection strengths include urban planning and architecture; economic development; neighborhood oral histories; community association records; local television history; Baltimore area nonprofits; and community organizing, particularly related to the issues of education, housing, and highway construction. Areas of collection development include civil rights; women’s liberation; lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender rights; labor organizing movements; and documentation on a greater number of Baltimore City neighborhoods.
|
Visit the Special Collections and Archives website to learn more about the Baltimore Regional Studies Archives. Visit the links below to search our digital exhibits and digitized collection material.
|
Collection Strengths and Notable Subjects
The list of links below can help you get started researching using primary sources related to these subject areas, but be sure to do your own search in the Collections Database to narrow down your results
