Interns, guest curators, and student workers can use this page to learn about Omeka.net at Special Collections and Archives. Find online tutorials to help you start learning how to use the online tool.
The goal of a digital exhibit is to facilitate education and outreach by providing a curated selection of materials in addition to extensive contextual information about the subject that ties the items together.
|
A Digital Exhibit Can:
|
 |
While we also digitize collection materials when patrons submit requests, and make individual items or folders of items available online through our finding aid database, our curated exhibits are made up of selected collection materials that are described and formatted to provide additional access, context, and education.
Omeka is an online content management system that provides access to digital materials through robust digital exhibits. Similar to tools such as WordPress.com, Omeka serves as a web publishing platform designed to share unique digital collections using templates and forms in a user-friendly interface. Omeka also allows us to make our materials more accessible (and findable) online with rich metadata.
There are several different versions of Omeka, such as Omeka S, Omeka Classic, and Omeka.net. Each has a few different variations and customization capabilities. Omeka was originally created by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media with funding from multiple organizations. Today, Omeka is a Digital Scholar project.
Special Collections and Archives uses Omeka.net to make our digitized archival collection materials available through curated online exhibits.
We work with Guest Curators, Interns, Students, Fellows, and others to curate our online exhibits.
|
Get Started with Tutorials:Then, Schedule a Tutorial Appointment with an Archivist at Special Collections and Archives |
Interested in learning more about digital exhibits, digital humanities, social sciences, and other web publishing tools?
