Below are some commonly needed citations for primary sources in Note-Bibliography style. Examples are taken from Evidence Explained (2007) by Elizabeth Shown Mills. (Website: https://www.evidenceexplained.com/)
| Archival Material | Example |
|
Bibliography: Creator. Artifact Title (Quoted Exactly). Item Type. Creation Date. Collection. Repository, Repository Location. |
Horst, “Aunt Elle,” et al. “Amish Friendship Sampler Album.” Quilt. Ca 1876-1900. Michigan Quilt Project. Michigan State University Museum, East Lansing. |
|
Footnote: 1. Creator, Artifact Title, Item Type, Creation date; item number, collection; Repository, Repository Location. Descriptive detail relevant to the research project (optional). |
1. “Aunt Ella” Horst et al., “Amish Friendship Sampler Album,” quilt, ca. 1876-1900; item 01.0011, Michigan Quilt Project; Michigan State University Museum, East Lansing, Michigan. The archival description identifies the quilt makers collectively as “Friends of Annie Risser Horst.” |
|
Private Holdings |
Example |
|
Bibliography: Compiler. Artifact Type. Creation Date. Current or Last Known Owner. Owner’s Location. |
Stabler, Zella (Lovell). Scrapbook. Ca. 1930-80. Privately held by Mrs. Stabler, Williamsport, Pennsylvania. |
|
Footnote 1. Item Description, Artifact Type, Creation Date; Current or Last Known Owner, Owner’s Location. [Optional: Add description and other information about the item as it related to the research]. |
1. G.B. Wuster obituary, undated clipping from unidentified newspaper, in Zella (Loevll) Stabler Scrapbook, ca. 1930-80; privately held by Mrs. Stabler, Williamsport, Pennslyvania. |
|
Census information (digital) |
Example |
|
Bibliography: Jurisdiction. Census ID, Schedule. Item type or format. Website creator/owner (if from an archive website). Website Title. Accessed Date. URL. |
Iowa. Marion County. 1850 U.S. Census, population schedule. Digital images. Ancestry.com. April 18, 2013. http://ancestry.com. |
|
Footnote: 1. Census ID, Jurisdiction, Schedule, Civil Division, Page ID, Household ID, Person(S) of Interest; item type or format, webstie title, accessed date, URL. |
1. 1850 U.S. census, Marion County, Iowa, population schedule, Lake Prairie, p. 290 (stamped), dwelling 151, family 156, Virgil W. and Wyatt B. Earp; digital image, Ancestry.com, accessed April 18, 2013, http://ancestory.com. |
|
Vital Records |
Example |
|
Bibliography: Jurisdiction. Series. Repository, Repository Location. |
Maryland. Baltimore County. Marriage Certificates. Maryland Division of Vital Statistics, Baltimore. |
|
Footnote: 1. Jurisdiction, certificate type & number (certificate date), id of person(s); Repository, Location. |
1. Baltimore County, Maryland. Marriage certificate no. 8734 (1967), Matthews-Harmon; Maryland Division of Vital Statistics, Baltimore. |