Skip to Main Content

Humanities Resources

A guide to finding information in the RLB Library related to art, drama, literature, and music.

Journal Articles

Artemis Literary Sources
What you’ll find here: Search all of the library's Gale literature databases (Literature Research Center, Litfinder, Scribner Writers Online, and Twayne's Authors Series) at once.
Humanities International Complete
What you’ll find here: Reviews, books, and conference proceedings as well as magazine, newspaper, trade publication, and journal articles. These focus on humanities subjects such as history, philosophy, literature, and languages.
How to search this database: Look at the EBSCOhost help page.
JSTOR
What you’ll find here: Digital reproductions of science, social science, and humanities scholarly journals along with digitized primary sources, such as letters and images.
How to search this database: Look at JSTOR’s help page.
Literature Resource Center
What you’ll find here: Literary criticism about specific authors and works or literary genres. It also includes biographies, primary sources, and some literary works themselves.
How to search this database: Take the Literature Resource Center’s guided tour.
MLA International Bibliography
What you’ll find here: Sources of information on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics pulled from books, dissertations, journal articles, and websites.
How to search this database: Look at the EBSCOhost help page.

General Reference Works

Credo Reference
What you'll find here: Emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Over 1,000 short reference videos, nearly 300,000 high-resolution art images, and thousands of additional images across all subject areas. Subject coverage is especially diverse and equipped to address all key disciplines.
How to search this database: Look at the Credo Video Tutorials help page.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
What you’ll find here: Beyond providing pronunciations, parts of speech, and definitions typical of most dictionaries, the OED adds a comprehensive etymology and history of a word’s usage. It’s one of the best sources of information on the English language.
How to search this database: Visit the OED's help page.

The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism by Michael Groden (Editor); Martin Kreiswirth (Editor); Imre Szeman (Editor)
ISBN: 9780801880100
Publication Date: 2004-12-10

Handbooks for Research and Study

Doing English by Robert Eaglestone
ISBN: 9780415496742
Publication Date: 2009-08-06
The Edinburgh Introduction to Studying English Literature by Dermot Cavanagh (Editor); Alan Gillis (Editor)
ISBN: 9781306819909
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
The Handbook to Literary Research by W. R. Owens (Editor); Delia da Sousa Correa (Editor)
ISBN: 9780415497329
Publication Date: 2009-09-24
Research Methods for English Studies by Gabriele Griffin (Editor)
ISBN: 9780748683444
Publication Date: 2013-01-01

American Literature

American Ethnic Writers by Salem Press
ISBN: 9781587654626
Publication Date: 2008-10-30
The Norton Anthology of African American Literature by Henry Louis Gates (General Editor); Cheryl A. Wall (Editor); Valerie Smith (General Editor); William L. Andrews (Editor); Kimberly Benston (Editor); Brent Hayes Edwards (Editor); Frances Smith (Editor); Deborah E. McDowell (Editor); Robert G. O'Meally (Editor); Hortense Spillers (Editor)
ISBN: 9780393911558
Publication Date: 2014-03-25
Encyclopedia of American Indian Literature by Jennifer McClinton-Temple; Alan R. Velie
ISBN: 9780816056569
Publication Date: 2007-07-30
Encyclopedia of Asian-American Literature by Seiwoong Oh
ISBN: 9780816060863
Publication Date: 2007-12-30
The Facts on File Companion to the American Novel by Abby H. P. Werlock
ISBN: 9780816045280
Publication Date: 2006-12-30
The Oxford Companion to Women's Writing in the United States by Cathy N. Davidson (Editor); Linda Wagner-Martin (Editor); Elizabeth Ammons (Editor); Trudier Harris (Editor); Ann Kibbey (Editor); Amy Ling (Editor); Janice Radway (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195066081
Publication Date: 1995-01-05

British Literature

The Norton Anthology of English Literature, Volumes d, e and F by Carol T. Christ (Editor); Stephen Greenblatt (General Editor); Alfred David (Editor); Barbara K. Lewalski (Editor); Lawrence Lipking (Editor); George M. Logan (Editor); Deidre Shauna Lynch (Editor); Katharine Eisaman Maus (Editor); James Noggle (Editor); Jahan Ramazani (Editor); Catherine Robson (Editor); James Simpson (Editor); Jon Stallworthy (Editor); Jack Stillinger (Editor); M. H. Abrams (General Editor)
ISBN: 9780393913019
Publication Date: 2012-02-13
The Longman Anthology of British Literature, Volumes 1A, 1B, And 1C by David Damrosch; Stuart Sherman; Kevin Dettmar; Andrew Hadfield; Peter Manning; Anne Schotter; William Sharpe; Susan Wolfson; Christopher Baswell; Clare Carroll; Heather Henderson
ISBN: 9780205693337
Publication Date: 2009-07-23
Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature by Steven Serafin (Editor); Valerie Grosvenor Myer (Editor)
ISBN: 9781849721318
Publication Date: 2006-02-14

World Literature

The Routledge Companion to World Literature by Theo D'haen (Editor); David Damrosch (Editor); Djelal Kadir (Editor)
ISBN: 9781136655760
Publication Date: 2011-09-14
The Norton Anthology of World Literature by Sarah N. Lawall
ISBN: 9780393977554
Publication Date: 2001-07-01
Masterpieces of Non-Western World Literature by Thomas L. Cooksey; Thomas L. Cooksey
ISBN: 9780313338588
Publication Date: 2007-10-30
Magill's Survey of World Literature by Steven G. Kellman (Editor)
ISBN: 9781587654312
Publication Date: 2009-10-30