LibGuides: Changes to Licensed Databases and Resources: Lists of Resources

About this page

We are continually evaluating our collection of databases in an effort to improve our ability to meet the needs of the UBalt community. This page is meant to show what resources have been added or dropped recently, and what changes are being considered.

Please send any feedback to:
reference@ubalt.edu or
library@ubalt.edu

Recently Added Databases

ICPSR - Social Science Data Archive
What you’ll find here: The world's largest archive of digital social science data. You can find 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, health and medical care, substance abuse, terrorism, demographics and other fields. There is also a searchable Bibliography of Data-Related Literature where you can find publications that use ICPSR data.
How to search this database: Go to the Find Data tab.
Lantern--Media History Digital Library
What you’ll find here: Digital collection of historical printed materials from the Media History Digital Library related to classic film, broadcasting and recorded sound. This is a great resource for fans and scholars of media history and includes fan magazines from the early part of the 20th century. The content is in the public domain and thus free to use (open-access).
For more information: Check out the Media History Digital Library
MIT Case Studies in Social and Ethical Responsibilities of Computing (SERC)
What you’ll find here: A case studies series (peer-reviewed) from the Social and Ethical Responsibilities of Computing (SERC) program at MIT on social and ethical implications of computing technologies, such as how social media services and surveillance tools are built; the racial disparities that can arise from deploying facial recognition technology in unregulated, real-world settings; the biases of risk prediction algorithms in the criminal justice system; and the politicization of data collection. The case studies are made available for free on an open-access basis, under Creative Commons licensing terms.
ccAdvisor
What you'll find here: A source of reviews of academic databases, websites, and tools for librarians, students, and faculty. It provides comprehensive, comparative, and authoritative information on a wide range of digital resources.
How to search this database: See the Quick Start Guide.
Mexican Intelligence Digital Archives (MIDAS)
What you'll find here: MIDAS, the Mexican Intelligence Digital Archives (los Archivos del Autoritarismo Mexicano), is a crowd-sourced, public access digital archive of historical documents from the Mexican intelligence agencies, the Dirección Federal de Seguridad (Federal Security Directorate, or DFS) and the Dirección General de Investigaciones Políticas y Sociales (General Directorate of Political and Social Investigations, or DGIPS.), covering the period from about 1940 to about 1985. These intelligence documents provide an understanding of one of the longest-lived single party regimes in history.
TRAIL – Technical Report Archive & Image Library
What you'll find here: Digitized technical reports from U.S. government agencies. Technical reports communicate research progress in technology and science; they deliver information for technical development to industry and research institutions.

Resources we are considering dropping

Journal Citations Reports
See Web of Science for more information.

Alternatives

Most high quality journals will provide their JCI ranking on their website
Scimago
- Includes more journals than JCI, so not as hard to get into. Also easier to rank in a higher tier.
Google Scholar Metrics
Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP)
- Based on Scopus

Alternatives

"Cited by" feature in Google Scholar
"Cited by" feature in EBSCO Discovery Service

Recently Dropped Databases

Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts
- Alternative database:
  - Design and Applied Arts Index
Britannica Online
- Alternative encyclopedias:
JAMA
- Alternative databases:
Lit Finder
Morningstar
- Alternative databases:
  - S&P Capital IQ
  - Enoch Pratt Free Library Databases
Newspapers.com
- Alternative databases and subscriptions:
Oxford Bibliographies
Social Explorer
- Alternative database:
  - Policy Map