This is the "Digital Collections" page of the "Archives 24/7" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archives 24/7   Tags: archives, history, special_collections  

Archival collections that have been scanned and are available online.
Last Updated: Apr 4, 2014 URL: http://ubalt.libguides.com/sc_digital Print Guide RSS Updates
Digital Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

From 2006 until 2013, the Special Collections Department at Langsdale Library was actively engaged in an initiative known as Archives 24/7. This  mass-digitization project aimed to make entire archival collections available online. In this project, documents were digitized at the archival folder level, saved as PDFs, and hyperlinked from collection inventory lists. This guide includes links to collections that have been digitized in large part or in their entirety. 

 

Status Update

The Archives 24/7 program is not currently active. This guide represents collections as they were digitized between 2006 and 2013. Please direct any questions to Ben Blake, head of Special Collections, at 410-837-5047 or bblake [at] ubalt [dot] edu.

 

Copyright Statement

Material may be quoted and digital images may be used from our collections for personal and educational purposes without prior permission, provided appropriate credit is given. When crediting images that are copyrighted by us, please use the citation: Used with permission of the University of Baltimore Langsdale Library Special Collections.

Any commercial use of this material is prohibited without prior permission. Commercial requests for use of images of any material must be submitted in writing to the address below:

Langsdale Library 
Special Collections Department 
1420 Maryland Avenue Baltimore, MD 21201-5779 

Complete Collections

The archival collections listed below have been completely digitized:

  • Baltimore Neighborhood Heritage Project
    From 1978 through 1980, the Baltimore Neighborhood Heritage Project (BNHP) conducted oral history interviews from longtime residents in seven Baltimore neighborhoods: Highlandtown, Hampden, Park Heights, Little Italy, South Baltimore, Old West Baltimore and East Baltimore, and with workers from the Port of Baltimore.
  • Baltimore Neighborhoods, Inc.
    Established in 1958, Baltimore Neighborhoods, Inc., a citizens' organization, was formed to promote an open housing market and viable integrated neighborhoods in the Baltimore area.
  • Board of Trade of Baltimore City
    Established in 1836, the Board of Trade merged with the Merchants & Manufacturers Association in 1923 to form the Baltimore Association of Commerce (the Chamber of Commerce of Metropolitan Baltimore after 1964). These records are from 1911-1918.
  • Citizens Housing Council of Baltimore
    The Citizens Housing Council was proposed by a group of Social Workers in early 1940 to advocate better standards for low-income housing in Baltimore. The Council incoporated in May 1940 with 120 members. In the summer of 1941 it merged with the Citizens Planning & Redevelopment Association to form the Citizens Planning & Housing Association.
  • Greater Baltimore Committee
    The GBC is a private organization composed of commercial, industrial, and professional leaders, founded in 1955 to further development and renewal in Baltimore and other areas of Maryland.
  • H. Donald Spatz
    Photographs and transcripts of 1960s radio commentaries of H. Donald Spatz, longtime WBAL-AM radio announcer.
  • John V.A. Weaver
    John Van Alstyn Weaver was born at Charlotte, North Carolina, July 17, 1893. A poet, he published five volumes of verse, two novels and a play in this period before going to Hollywood to write dialogue for the movies.
  • Model Urban Neighborhood Demonstration
    With funding from the U.S. Office of Economic Opportunity, MUND began as a public-private partnership between the Baltimore Community Action Agency, the Greater Baltimore Committee, and Westinghouse Corporation. The goal was to focus the resources and expertise of the private sector on a single district within Baltimore City, applying the best practices of business to the problems of urban renewal.
  • Movement Against Destruction
    The Movement Against Destruction, (MAD) was founded in August of 1968. MAD was a coalition of 25 neighborhood and other community organizations. The purpose of the organization was to fight any further construction of expressways into the city of Baltimore.
  • North Avenue Collection
    The collection is combination of two distinct research projects: the NORTH AVENUE 100 project conducted in the mid-1980s under the direction of Dr. Elaine Eff, and University of Baltimore undergraduate coursework in community studies lead by Dr. Jessica I. Elfenbein in the mid-2000s.
  • Reservoir Hill Oral History Collection
    Oral history interviews conducted in 2010 by UB students. The project investigates residents' perspectives on living in Reservoir Hill during the 1950s and 1960s.
  • Southeast Council Against the Road
    The Southeast Council, like the Movement Against Destruction, formed in response to proposals for interstate highways through Baltimore City. This council was specifically concerned with highways proposed through historic Fells Point and surrounding neighborhoods.
  • Tenants Union Group Collection
    The group was interested in the rights of tenants and their relationship with landlords. The collection includes: posters, scrapbook, vacant house suveys, correspondence, rent control literature, and complaint sheets.
  • Urban Renewal Files
    Correspondence, speeches, articles, newspaper clippings, and legislation related to the issue of urban renewal at the municipal, state, and national levels.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip