History

A collection of 234 interviews, conducted between 1977 and 1982, with longtime residents of 7 Baltimore neighborhoods (Highlandtown, Hampden, Park Heights, Little Italy, South Baltimore, Old West Baltimore and East Baltimore) and with workers from the Port of Baltimore.

66 interviews produced in 2006 by UB undergraduates with a racially and economically diverse group of informants regarding their experiences of the urban disturbances of April 1968.

171 interviews are organized around specific themes, including labor, education, and community organizing. As an outgrowth of the Baltimore Neighborhood Heritage Project, the Baltimore Voices Company conducted interviews in order to create a theatrical production that was performed throughout the city in 1980.

Collection of 12 interviews with East Baltimore community activists and longtime residents, conducted by UB students in 1997.

11 interview sessions with Gertrude Williams, conducted in between February and June of 1999, by Jo Anne Robinson for her book, "Education As My Agenda: Gertrude Williams, Race, and the Baltimore Public Schools."

Collection of 8 interviews conducted in 1998 by UB students working on an exhibit for the Babe Ruth Birthplace Museum.

Collection of 17 interviews conducted in 2011 by UB students. The project documents the history of the Center, originally known as The People's Free Medical Clinic.

16 interviews were conducted in 1986 about the experiences of living, working, and patronizing businesses along North Avenue. Interview questions included.

6 oral history interviews conducted in 2010 by UB students. The project investigates residents' perspectives on living in Reservoir Hill during the 1950s and 1960s.

Collection of 10 interviews conducted between 2012 and 2013 by Aiden Faust. The project documents collective ownership of the Cork Factory and the development of the Station North Arts and Entertainment District in Baltimore City.

The 47 interviews in this collection were conducted by Guy Hollyday between 1987 and 1993 as background research for his book, "Stone Hill: The People and Their Stories." Audio clips from the interviews are available on the project website.

Find information about how to use the archives, our collections, archival staff, request forms, and more.

Website with links to Baltimore Studies Exhibits, UB History Exhibits, and Audiovisual Archives from the University of Baltimore's Special Collections and Archives.

Use this link to request materials from the Special Collections and Archives at the University of Baltimore.

A collection of interviews with surviving members of the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power, New York. The collection presents comprehensive, complex, human, collective, and individual pictures of the people who have made up ACT UP/New York.

This oral-history interview focuses on Cox's tenure as solicitor general from 1961 to 1965, when he argued many landmark civil-rights cases before the Supreme Court.

The interviewees discuss the organization's work in adult education, cognitive research, educational testing, library science, music education, national security, teacher education, and social-science research generally. It traces the continuity of many of these programs across the second half of the twentieth century and the Corporation's expansion into global funding strategies in the areas of peace, scientific research, and international cooperation. Phase Two of the project covers the period between 1966 and 1997 of the Corporation's history.

An extensive list of books related to oral interviews, collective memory, and cultural history... Don't miss the left-hand navigation bar for links to additional resources.

Privately funded oral history projects that relay everyday and historical events through a micro-history perspective.

History of Memphis through oral histories, digitized sources, and video.

Project by UNC Chapel Hill, collection of over 500 interviews. Racial integration, environmental issues, industrialization, politics, and women's rights are all collections within project.

Historian Linda Shopes brings together resources related to conducting oral histories, conducting community history projects, using and interpreting oral histories in historical research, and local history in the context of historical studies.

In 1953, the Regional Oral History Office was established to conduct interviews with residents of the West. In 2014, it became the Oral History Center at UC Berkeley. Over the decades, they have conducted 5,000 interviews on almost every topic imaginable, yielding over 30,000 hours of recordings. The vast majority of these interview transcripts have been made available online.

This well-rounded bibliography includes "sections on oral history theory and methodology, ethical considerations and legal issues, citations to key journals and videotapes, and a compendium of exemplary books and articles based at least in part on oral history research."

Founder of the global digital storytelling movement. StoryCenter is a nonprofit organization that uses a combination of StoryWork and innovative, participatory media methods to support people in sharing personal narratives rooted in their own life experiences.

Independent organization recognized nationally for recording the stories of anyone interested in telling. Mobile recording booths and a downloadable app allow participants to tell their story which are then archived at the Library of Congress regardless of content, breadth, or agenda.

A project of the ECHO network celebrating the history of the people in Winston-Salem, North Carolina.

A library research guide on oral history

Spoken word recordings dating from 1888 onward.