Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Google Scholar - Feature #1
See how many times a document has been cited
Note: Google Scholar includes citations from an array of sources in its "Cited by" calculation, including PowerPoint and Word documents, and gives everything an equal rank.
GoogleScholar - Feature #2
Online Tools for Enhanced Analysis
Google Scholar Gadget for Citation Counting
Use for searching for the total number of citations of author(s). It provides a total citation count, total number of cited publications and Jorge E. Hirsch's H-Index.
IMPORTANT: Please note that this tool is as accurate/inaccurate as Google Scholar itself. It is important to check and refine the data that the gadget performs calculations on by clicking on the "view publications" link. If the returned page shows inaccurate results then the search terms in the gadget need to be refined until the returned page is as accurate as possible.
Publish or Perish (PoP)
This is a free downloadable software program that retrieves and analyzes academic citations included in Google Scholar citation data.
Citation Impact Discerning Self-citations (CIDS)
A web tool that calculates different citation statistics, such as the h-index and g-index. The results are available in html, in spreadsheet files (tsv), and in BibTeX. For more information about how to use this tool, watch the Youtube video tutorial
Be aware of the limitations of this tool and check the FAQ
section. According to the FAQ page, only one search per email is allowed. There is also a limit of 200 items (in the tutorial, it says 500 items) for the analysis. The analysis takes about 1 minute per item to calculate.
Limitations and Criticism
Be aware of some limitations of Google Scholar:
- Google Scholar does not index the full text of all scholarly articles. Therefore, some articles citing the item under study may not be counted.
- Google Scholar gives everything an equal rank, including PowerPoints and Word documents.
- Authors' names can be challenged to search. To improve your search, use only author's last name (no first name or initials) and main title in quotations. For example, bao "superior thermal conductivity of single-layer graphene".
- The term [CITATION] at the beginning of an entry indicates that the full text of the item is not accessible through Google Scholar. To see the full text of the item, search Ebsco Discovery Service or A-Z Journal List. If the item is unavailable, submit an interlibrary loan request.
For a quick overview of the limitations and critiques to Google Scholar, check the Wikipedia articles:
- Google Scholar
- Google Scholar and Academic Libraries
For more in depth research from the scholarly community, use...
|"Google Scholar" AND (pros OR cons OR advantages OR critiques)
... as keywords in databases, such as Academic Search Complete , and Library, Information Science, & Technology Abstracts.
Keep in Mind...
Photo: Adapted from Colorfully
A citation search in Google Scholar is NOT a complete citation search:
- "Cited by" links will only include articles that are indexed in Google Scholar. Some material may be missing.
- You will need to search variations in the author's name since there is no standardized format.
- There may be duplication of results, so check carefully.
- You may need to verify that a work is scholarly by checking the Journal Finder.
- Coverage is primarily medical, scientific, and technical.
- Coverage is primarily English language.