Skip to main content

RLB Support for Continuity of Classes

Information about the RLB services that are available to UB students, faculty in staff while classes are all being held on online

Overview

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, a number of companies and publishers have made some of their content and services free for a limited time.  This is a collection of information about free information resources and internet access.

chat loading...

Free and Low Cost Options for Internet Access

Free Books and Journals [Limited Time]

Booklist

  • All Booklist and Book Links content on www.booklistonline.com is freely available until further notice. Booklist is a book-review magazine that has been published by the American Library Association for more than 100 years, and is widely viewed as offering the most reliable reviews to help libraries decide what to buy and to help library patrons and students decide what to read, view, or listen to.

Bloomsbury Digital Resources (through June 30, 2020)

Arcadian Library Online

Bloomsbury Food Library

Berg Fashion Library

Bloomsbury Medieval Studies

Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts

Bloomsbury Popular Music

Bloomsbury Architecture Library

Churchill Archive

Bloomsbury Collections

Drama Online

Bloomsbury Cultural History

Fairchild Books Library 

Bloomsbury Design Library

Fashion Photography Archive

Bloomsbury Education and Childhood Studies

Human Kinetics Library

Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Philosophers

Screen Studies

Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases

Theology & Religion Online

Bloomsbury Fashion Video Archive

 

 

EBSCO--Three database upgrades until June 30, 2020.

Business Source Ultimate, CINAHL Complete, Sociology Source Ultimate

Emerald Publishing

  • Free content related to COVID-19 and the management of epidemics.

Flipster

  • Free access to EBSCO's Flipster until June 30, 2020. Flipster provides digital versions of hundreds of popular magazines.

Getty Publications Virtual Library

  • Offering more than 300 ebooks on architecture, painting, photography, etc., to read and download for free through June 2020.

Internet Archive

  • Internet Archive is a non-profit digital library offering free universal access to books, movies & music, as well as 439 billion archived web pages.

JSTOR

National Emergency Library

  • This is a collection of ebooks that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed. Waitlists have been suspended through June 30, 2020 or until the pandemic ends, whichever is later. Learn more.

Project Muse

  • growing list of publishers (6 at time of writing) are temporarily making their books and some journals available for free through Project Muse. You can restrict your search results to "Only content I have access to" in order to find them more easily.

Vendor Covid-19 Related Donations and Pro Bono Access

Free Videos [Limited Time]

JoVE

  • JoVE offers a collection of STEM videos free to educators through June 15.

Internet Archive

  • Internet Archive is a non-profit digital library offering free universal access to books, movies & music, as well as 439 billion archived web pages.

National Film Board of Canada

  • This collection has over 4,000 films, documentaries, and short pieces available to stream for free. This includes Indigenous Cinema, a library of over 200 films by indigenous directors. Learn more.

Teaching and Learning in the Time of Covid-19

EBSCO LearningExpress

  • Access free resources to help students prepare for standardized tests, college courses and careers. Available through June 30, 2020.

Gale's COVID-19 Support Center

  • For a limited time, GALE has made a set of resources about teaching and learning online and credible health information available for free. If prompted for a password, enter "open".

PolicyMap