Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Select a database (a curated, searchable collection) by name, browse by subject or try our most comprehensive collection: EDS.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
What you’ll find here: Over 1.6 million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences from around the globe and across time periods. Included are images from international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. The images are rights-cleared for educational use. Consult the terms and conditions of use for more information. https://www.artstor.org/artstor-terms/
Access is available until June 30, 2021. Contact Debbie Li at dli@ubalt.edu to be registered for access.
New
What you'll find here: A source of reviews of academic databases, websites, and tools for librarians, students, and faculty. It provides comprehensive, comparative, and authoritative information on a wide range of digital resources.
How to search this database: See the Quick Start Guide.
New
What you’ll find here: Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is a joint service of OAPEN, OpenEdition, CRNS and Aix-Marseille Université. You can access over 34,000 academic peer-reviewed books from over 400 publishers. All books listed in DOAB are freely accessible and therefore free to read, but this does not mean readers are free to do anything they like with these books. The usage rights of the books in DOAB are determined by the license. Please check the license if you want to re-use the contents of a book. Generally speaking, all books listed in DOAB are free to read and share for non-commercial use.
How to use this database: Check out the FAQ.
New
What you’ll find here: Records for approximately 650 gazette titles with detailed information such as the name of country at time of publication; any and all name changes for that country; the exact title at time of publication; and years held. (Note: this database was last updated in 2007 and is no longer maintained. It is still useful for legacy researchers.)
New
What you’ll find here: The world's largest archive of digital social science data. You can find 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, health and medical care, substance abuse, terrorism, demographics and other fields. There is also a searchable Bibliography of Data-Related Literature where you can find publications that use ICPSR data.
How to search this database: Go to the Find Data tab.
New
What you’ll find here: Digital collection of historical printed materials from the Media History Digital Library related to classic film, broadcasting and recorded sound. This is a great resource for fans and scholars of media history and includes fan magazines from the early part of the 20th century. The content is in the public domain and thus free to use (open-access).
For more information: Check out the Media History Digital Library
New
What you’ll find here: a collection of digitized historic legal material and government documents. It includes publications of state, federal, and territorial governments of the United States, as well as publications of the governments of Canada, Great Britain, Germany, and many other countries. It also includes Indigenous Law, international law, and multi-jurisdictional special focus collections.
While holdings of some ongoing titles may be relatively recent, LLMC-Digital is not a collection of current content; it is primarily a collection of historic legal material. The collection is regularly updated with additional digitized content.
New
What you’ll find here: Digital collection of official publications collected from Maryland State Agencies, Executive Commissions, Task Forces, and Interstate Agencies. The publications cover the following subjects: agriculture, education, environment, health, and public safety, and include annual reports from all state agencies.
New
What you’ll find here: A case studies series (peer-reviewed) from the Social and Ethical Responsibilities of Computing (SERC) program at MIT on social and ethical implications of computing technologies, such as how social media services and surveillance tools are built; the racial disparities that can arise from deploying facial recognition technology in unregulated, real-world settings; the biases of risk prediction algorithms in the criminal justice system; and the politicization of data collection. The case studies are made available for free on an open-access basis, under Creative Commons licensing terms.
New
What you'll find here: Over 100 pamphlets and periodicals from 1848 to 1851 uncovering the cultural, political, social, and other aspects of the French revolution of 1848.
New
What you’ll find here: Financial news, market insights, company performance data, and sector-specific data. You can find detailed company financial information for U.S. and international public and private companies and investment firms.
How to search this database: please see How To Use S&P Capital IQ.
New
What you’ll find here: Full text for peer-reviewed journal articles in three subject areas: health & life sciences, physical sciences, and social & behavioral sciences. Note: You do not need to log in before searching in ScienceDirect, but if you want to save searches and/or set up email alerts, you can register for an account. The Registration button is at the top right of the homepage.
Terms and conditions.
New
What you'll find here: Digital scans of 19th century manuscripts relating to slavery and manumission in Timbuktu. The materials, in Arabic, provide documentation on Africans in slavery in Muslim societies.
New
What you’ll find here: Streaming video licensed for educational use at UBalt. The films available on the homepage were requested by UBalt faculty.
New
What you'll find here: MIDAS, the Mexican Intelligence Digital Archives (los Archivos del Autoritarismo Mexicano), is a crowd-sourced, public access digital archive of historical documents from the Mexican intelligence agencies, the Dirección Federal de Seguridad (Federal Security Directorate, or DFS) and the Dirección General de Investigaciones Políticas y Sociales (General Directorate of Political and Social Investigations, or DGIPS.), covering the period from about 1940 to about 1985. These intelligence documents provide an understanding of one of the longest-lived single party regimes in history.
New
What you'll find here: Digitized technical reports from U.S. government agencies. Technical reports communicate research progress in technology and science; they deliver information for technical development to industry and research institutions.

License & Copyright

The University of Baltimore holds licenses for all of its electronic databases and journals.  These resources are available to the staff and students of the University of Baltimore and should be used for teaching and research purposes only. It is a breach of license conditions to use the data for commercial or business purposes. 

 You must observe the specific terms and conditions for each service that you use and, in particular:

  • You should not give your username and password to anyone else.
  • You should not attempt to download excessive portions of the resource into your own filespace or other electronic media.
  • You should not pass on any information you retrieve to a user who is not authorized to use the resource, or republish the material in any form.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...