This is the "Series IV. Photographs" page of the "Thomas J. D'Alesandro, Jr. (TJD)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Thomas J. D'Alesandro, Jr. (TJD)   Tags: archives, archives24/7, digital_collections, history, special_collections  

Partially digitized collection of archival documents held in Langsdale Library Special Collections
Last Updated: Apr 4, 2014 URL: http://ubalt.libguides.com/tjd Print Guide
Series IV. Photographs Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

Welcome to the Archives 24/7 access portal to Langsdale Library Special Collections. This guide provides access to archival collections that have been partially scanned and are available for download in PDF format. 

Collections have been scanned to provide access copies for educational use. Each link represents a folder from the archival collection. Clicking a link will open scanned documents in PDF format. Please refer to our citation policiy on this page.

This material is part of the Thomas J. D'Alesandro, Jr. Collection. To see a guide to the complete archival collection, including material not selected for digitization, please refer to our collection guide here.

 

Citation Policy

Material may be quoted and digital images may be used from our collections for personal and educational purposes without prior permission, provided appropriate credit is given. When crediting images that are copyrighted by us, please use the citation: Used with permission of the University of Baltimore Langsdale Library Special Collections.

Any commercial use of this material is prohibited without prior permission. Commercial requests for use of images of any material must be submitted in writing to the address below:

Langsdale Library
Special Collections Department
1415 Maryland Avenue Baltimore, MD 21201-5779

 

Questions?

Contact Special Collections:

Ben Blake
Head of Special Collections
410-837-5047
bblake [at] ubalt.edu

Aiden Faust
Digital Collections Librarian
410-837-4334
afaust [at] ubalt.edu

 

Series 4B. Personalities

Box 1.
1. Agron, Gershon (Mayor of Jerusalem) October 1956
2. Andrews, Tod “The Grey Ghost” – May 8, 1958
3. Aversa, Raymond – October 1948
4. Bernardi, S.D. Rev – October 1953
5. Briscoe, Robert   - Lord Mayor of Dublin
6. Brivio, Joseph Felise Paintings – Mayor Declines Donation – November 1956
7. Brosio, Manlio – Italian Ambassador to U.S. – 1955
8. Brosio, Manlio – Italian Ambassador to U.S. – 1956
9. Bushman, Francis X., Morris A. Mechnic – 1951
10. Carvile, Elbert - Governor of Delaware
11. Claire, Jeanne – November 1956
12. Daley, Richard J. – 1956
13. DeMille, Cecil B. – 1956
14. Dimaggio, Joe – 1955
15. Dobson, John J. – October 1956
16. Elizabeth II
17. Eisenhower, Dwight
18. Fallin, Herbert – Memorial
19. Fallon, George H., Congressman – 1956
20. Frohman, Jane – 1955
21. George, Walter F., Senator
22. Green, Allen I.
23. Hennessy, Frank and Roche, Pat
24. Holm, George L. Mrs.
25. Katz, Joe
26. Kiland, I.N. – 1953
27. LaGuardia, Fiorella – 1940
28. Linkletter, Art
29. McCormick, Charles F. Testimonial dinner
30. McCubbin, Nicholas – 1958
31. McKeldin, Theodore R. – Retirement of Colonel Whittaker -1954
32. Meir, Golda – 1956
33. Nixon, Richard M. - 1957
34. Perkins, Walter F. – 1956
35. Robinson, J. Ben – 1953
36. Roosevelt, Eleanor
37. Roosevelt, Franklin D.
38. Ruth, George Herman “Babe” – 1955
39. Schmidt, Charles F.
40. Sevilla-Secasa, Guillermo, Dr.
41. Shehan, Lawrence Cardinal
42. Sherry, Gerard E.
43. Shinglier, John J.
44. Stewart, Jimmy
45. Sullivan, Ed
46. Traynor, P.A.
47. Truman, Harry S.
48. Unidentified – 1956
49. Unidentified – 1957
50. Unidentified – 1958
51. Uribe, Pedro Simon
52. Villani, Ralph A.
53. Weech, Mrs. C. Sewell
54. West, Ben
55. Bovello, Charles J.
56. Conby, Jack;Ritt, Martha; Coih, H.; Matusky, Joan; Basson, Mary Angela
57. Hartle, C.J.
58. Huffman, V.J.
59. Jack's Key Service
60. Mayor D'Alesandro, Theodore McKeldin, Louis Goldstein, Marvin Mandel
61. Stott, E.C.; Briddell, Willis; Grotz, Arthur; Crane, Charles P.; Engle, William W.

 

Series 4C. Events

Box 1. Cornerstone Layings
1. Baltimore Memorial Stadium, Phase IV - September 9, 1954
2. Booker T. Washington School - October 9, 1952
3. Carver Vocational High School - April 22, 1955
4. Third Cherry Hill Elementary School - May 22, 1956
5. Cherry Hill Colored Junior High School - October 8, 1953
6. Cherry Hill School - August 9, 1951
7. Civil Defense Control Center- Fire Engine House Number 61- 1953
8. Area #5 -Field House, Showers, and Locker Rooms- March 1953
9. Court House - July 10, 1952
10. Cross Country Boulevard Elementary - November 16, 1954
11. Douglas High School - Addition to - June 16, 1955
12. Druid Park Drive School Number 18 - May 4, 1951
13. Edison-Burton Mergenthaer Vocational High School - October 1951
14. Fallstaff School - May 17, 1950
15. Fire Department Training School, Pulaski Highway - April 6, 1956
16. Glenmount School #235 - May 1957
17. Govans Elementary School #213 - November 30, 1951
18. Gwynn Falls Parkway Elementary - May 20, 1957
19. Incinerator #4, Pulaski Highway - April 26, 1955
20. Mount Winans Colored Elementary - January 29, 1953
21. Northwood School - November 1, 1951
22. School #144, Mosher Street & Wheeler Avenue- Addition - April 1955
23. Pimlico Junior High School - December 6, 1955
24. Southern Health District - October 21, 1949
25. Southwest Baltimore Colored Elementary School - November 6, 1952
26. Tuberculosis Hospital at City Hospital - November 6, 1951
27. Woodbourne Junior High School - February 18, 1955

Box 2. Groundbreakings  
1. Arcade Parking Lot - 1950
2. Ashburton Filtration Plant - 1953
3. Baltimore Harbor Tunnel -1955
4. Baltimore Memorial Stadium 
5. Baltimore Museum of Art - The Cone Wing - 1955
6. Bath House - Claremont and Eaton Streets - 1949
9. Booker T. Washington School 
10. Broadway Redevelopment Project Johns Hopkins Dormitory - 1956
11. Broadway Redevelopment Project Area - Playground - 1956 
12. Carver Vocational High School - 1953
13. Charlotte and Cardiff Elementary School -1955
14. Cherry Hill Extension 2 Housing Authority of Baltimore City - 1955
15. Cherry Hill High School
16. Cloverdale Playground - 1949
17. Court House, Fayette and Gay Streets - 1951
18. Cylburn Home - 1956
19. Day Camp School - 1953
20. Dispensary
21. Druid Hill Park Colored Pool - 1950
22. Druid Hill Park - White Swimming Pool - 1949
23. Eastern Health Center 
24. Eastern Health District - 1953
25. Edgecomb Circle Elementary School - 1956
26. Elmer A. Henderson School - 1953
27. Fallstaff Road Elementary School - 1950
28. Field House and Playground - 1949
29. Field House and Wading Pool, Laurens and Gilmore Streets - 1952
30. Fields House - South Ellwood and Toones Streets
31. Filbert and Curtis Avenue - 1950
33. Fire Department Training School - Pulaski Highway - 1955
34. Fire Engine House - July 1955
35. Fire Engine House - Pulaski Highway and Lakedale - 1950
36. Fire House- Arlington and Cold Spring Lane - 1952
37. Fire House - Chesapeake and Childs Streets - 1951
38. Flag House and Museum Building - 1953
39. Garrison Junior High School (?) - September 1954
40. Glenmont School Number 235 - Addition to - 1955
41. Gwynns Falls Parkway Elementary School - 1955
42. Hamilton Junior High School - 1953
43. Hamilton Recreation Center - 1949
44. Hazelwood Elementary School - 1957
45. Health Center - Bank Street - 1951
46. High School - in Edmondson Village - 1955
47. Hillsdale Field House - 1952
48. Hilton and Edmondson Avenue Tunnel - 1951
49. Housing Development - Fayette and Central
50. Housing Development- Pratt and Exter Street
51. Kirk Avenue Grandstands and Field Facilities - 1955
52. Lafayette Market Building - 1955
53. Laurel Race Track
54. Liberty School Number 64 - 1953
55. Library - North Avenue and Pennsylvania Avenue - 1951
56. Lions Club Recreation Center - 1949
57. Medfield Heights Elementary - 1955
58. Mount Royal Elementary School - 1957
59. Mount St. Joe's - Gym - 1952
60. North-East Market - 1955
61. Northwood Elementary - 1950
62. O'Donnell Heights School
63. Parking Lot - Liberty and Saratoga Streets
64. Parking Lot - Redwood Street
65. Parking Lot - Saratoga and Sharp Streets 
66. Patterson Park High School Athletic Field House - 1952
67. Patterson Park Swimming Pool 
68. Pimlico Junior High School - 1954
69. Public School Number 235 - 1955
70. Riverside Park Swimming Pool - 1950
71. School Number 18 - Druid Park Drive - 1951
72. School Number 81 - Wildwood Parkway
73. School Number 106 - Gym
74. School Number 226 - Additions and Alterations to - 1955
75. School Number 233- Addition to - 1953
76. Sinclair Lane Elementary School - 1955
77. Southern Junior Senior High School - Additions to - 1955
78. South West Colored School - 1951
79. Southwestern Police Station - 1957
80. State Office Building, Baltimore, Maryland - 1957
81. Third Cherry Hill Elementary School - 1955
82. Thomas Jefferson School - Addition to - 1955
83. Tuberculosis Hospital at City Hospital - 1950
84. Unidentified
85. Unidentified - 1949
88. Walter J. Dewees Memorial Playfield - Field House and Wading Pool - 1955
89. Waverly Redevelopment - 1956
90. WBAL - New Building - Maryland Avenue -1957
91. West Baltimore Colored Elementary School - 1950
92. Wilken Field
93. Yorkwood Elementary - 1956
94. Zoo Building - 1952
 
Box 3. Miscellaneous  
1. Advertising Club of Baltimore - 1958
2. Alcala No. 16 - 1954
3. American League Season - Opening Game - 1956
4. Animal Shelter Truck - 1955
5. Area No. 12 - Redevelopment - 1956
6. Association of Commerce Dinner - 1953
7. Baltimore Ballot Battalion - 1953
8, Baltimore's 160th Birthday - 1957
9. Baltimore Colts - 1955
10. Baltimore Colts Football, INC. - presentation of season tickets - 1956 
11. Baltimore Colts - 1957 
12. Baltimore Colts - Salute to the Colts Luncheon -1958
13. Baltimore Contractors Inc. - 1952
14. Baltimore Goes International Gala - 1955
15. Baltimore Harbor Tunnel - Test Boring Patapsco River for - 1954
16. Baltimore Orioles - Public Relations - 1957
17. Baltimore Safety Council - 34th Annual Dinner Meeting - 1957
18. Baltimore USO - GI Pal Dinner - 1955
19. Beverly Ober - Police Boat, Launching - 1956
20. Billboard - "Re-Elect D'Alesandro" - 1959
21. Boy's Town - 1955
22. Charles Center Hearing - 1958
23. Chesapeake and Potomac Airways - Helicopter Flight - Baltimore to Washington DC
24. Chevrolet - Baltimore - celebration of 34 millionth vehicle 
25. Classified Municipal Employees Association, Inc. - 1955
26. Coast and Geodetic Survey Sesquicentennial Dinner - 1957
27. Colt Ticket Telethon - 1952
28. Columbus Day - 1955 with Mayor of Naples, Achille Lauro
29. Columbus Day Celebration - 1956
30. Constructioneer - July 1957
31. Constructioneer - December 1957
32. Constructioneer - 1957-1958
33. Cruise - Italia
34. D'Alesandro, Nancy - 1954
35. Diamond Jim III - Launching - 1958
36. Eastern Region Meeting of the Institute of Navigation - 1957
37. Enoch Pratt Free Library - Window Display - 1952
38. Esso Standard Oil Company - Esso Safety Foundation contribution - 1957
39. Flag House Courts - First Families Moving into - 1955
40. Fourth of July - Gwynns Falls Park - 1952
41. Friendship Airport Tour 
42. Friendship International Airport - Hanging Sign 
43. Friendship International Airport - TWA Comes to
44. Gillet-Wright, Inc. - 1956
45. Greater Baltimore Committee
46. Harbor Tour - State Legislature and City Council - 1953
47. Hennessy's Band Box
48. Hibernian Banquet - 1955
49. Housing Problems and Rent Control
50. I Am An American Day - 1955
51. Independent Retail Grocers and Meat Dealers Association of Baltimore - 1957 
52. International Conference of Cities and Communities, Vienna - 1953
53. Italian Marketing Mission - 1950
54. Johns Hopkins Institutions - Annual Alumni Roll Call - 1953
55. Laurel Race Course and Luncheon - 1957
56. Long Distance Dialing, Fredericksburg, VA - Inauguration - 1954
57. Ludwig Post - 1951
58. Maryland Association of Engineers' Meeting at Ocean City - 1956
59. Maryland Day Ceremonies - 1955
60. Maryland Shipbuilding and Drydock Company - Launching - 1956
61. Mayor's Day Purse - Timonium Race Course - 1954
62. Mayor's Day Purse - Timonium Race Course - 1956
63. Mayor's Day Purse - Maryland State Fair - 1957
64. Mayor's Day Trophy - Timonium - 1958
65. Nancy D'Alesandro - Cruise 
66. National Association of County and Prosecuting Attorneys - 1955
67. National Brewing Company - 1953
68. National Brewing Company - 1955
69. National Maritime Day Dinner - 1947
70. National Maritime Day Luncheon - 1955
71. National Newspaper Week - Opening - 1957
72. Northwood Optimist Little League 
73. Oldtimers' Basketball Association Meeting - 1956 
74. Philadelphia Mummer String Band
75. Pier 9, Port Covington - Inauguration of Extension of - 1957
76. Police Academy Graduation Ceremony - February 1953
77. Police Academy Graduation Ceremony - October 1953
78. Polio Vaccine - 1955
79. Port of Baltimore 
80. Producers' Council, Inc.
81. Re-Election Night as Mayor of Baltimore 
82. Rose Day - 1956
83. Safe Driving Day - 1955
84. Safe Driving Day - 1957
85. St. Patrick's Day - 1957
86. Series E U. S. Savings Bond - 16th Anniversary - 1957
87. Short Course Week - 1952
88. Sports boosters Annual Banquet - 1955
89. Sportsman Show Parade - 1949
90. Swiss Airport Study Delegation - 1956
91. Tarsus - Visiting from Turkey - 1954
92. Taxi Drivers Local 426 - First Pension Benefits - 1956
93. Traffic Signal on Lexington Market - Renovating old brick 
94. Unidentified:1953; 1955, 1956, 1957
95. Unidentified - Patterson Park
96. United States and Canadian Mayors - Luncheon - 1953
97. United States Conference of Mayors - Reception - 1957
98. U. S. Army - 1953
99. United States Marine Corp - 1955
100. U. S. Marine Corps Reserve - 1953 
101. USO Pipe Club Installation Ceremony - 1956
102. USO's Third Annual GI-Pal Dinner - 1956
103. Walter's Art Gallery - Hearsch (?) gift - 1957
104. WMAR-TV - Christmas Program - 1949
 
Box 4. Opening and Dedication Ceremonies  
1. Ashburton Filtration Plant - 1956
2. Baltimore Washington Freeway - 1951
3. Bath House - Claremont and Eaton Streets - 1949
4. Brooklyn Recreation Center - 1951
5. Civil Defense Shelter - Cold Spring Lane 
6. Caton-Chapman - 1957
7. Charles Street Bridge - 1958
8. Chesapeake Bay Bridge 
9. Cross Street Market - 1952
10. Esso Baltimore Bulk Plant - 1955
11. Frankiln Street at Franklintown Road after Paving 
12. Friendship International Airport Dedication
13. Friendship International Airport - Opening New Hangar
14. Health Center - Southern District - 1951
15. Hecht Company - Edmondson - 1956
16. Junior Achievement Center - 1957
17. Kelly Avenue - Mount Washington - 1951
18. Lexington Market - Temporary Building - 1949
19. Lexington Street Market - 1953
20. Liberty Dam - 1953
21. Library - Enoch Pratt - Edmondson - 1952
22. Library - Garrison and Park Heights Avenue - 1952
23. Mayor Thomas D'Alesandro, Jr. Fireboat
24. Monkey House - Druid Hill Park - 1952
25. O'Donnell Viaduct - 1955
25a. Parking Lot - East Baltimore
26. Parking Lot- 14 East Center Street - 1951
27. Parking Lot - Saratoga and Sharp Street
28. Playground - Cloverdale - Dedication - 1950
29. Playground - Janney Street - 1952
30. Playground and Recreation Center - Towanda -1951
31. Playground - School Number 2 - 1951
32. Playground - Unidentified - Dedication - 1951
33. Potee Street Opening - 1951
34. Purple Heart Center - 1950
35. Swimming Pool - Druid Hill Park -1950
36. Swimming Pool - Forest Park High School - 1951
37. Swimming Pool - Riverside Park 
38. Swimming Pool - Roosevelt Park 
39. Traffic Safety Commission [?] - Opening
40. Tuberculosis Building at City Hospital - 1953
41. Under Pass - Hilton Street - 1953
42. Unidentified Opening - 1955
43. Waverly Tower Shopping Center - 1957

Box 5. Proclamations, Presentations and Citations
1. Airborne Electronics Week Proclamation - 1956
2. American Flag Week Proclamation - 1958
3. Baltimore Symphony Orchestra Dinner Committee - 1956
4. Baltimore-Washington, D. C. Locksmith's Association Presentation- 1957
5. Commercial Credit Company Citation - 1957
6. Forget-Me-Not Proclamation - 1957
7. Improved Order Red Men and Degree of Pocahontas Presentation - 1958
8. Interfaith Day Proclamation - 1955
9. Junior Achievement Presentation - 1957
10. Police Department Citations - 1955
11. Registration Month Proclamation - 1958
12. Safe Driver League - 1956
13. Youth Temperance Council Week Proclamation - 1957

 

Series 4D. Physical Plant

Box 1.
1. Bridge - Expressway and Waterview
2. Bridge - Monroe Street & B. & O. Railroad
3. Bridge - Potee Street & Patapsco Highway
4. Bypass - Hilton Street
5. Camp - Day Camp - Edmondson Avenue Exit
6. Court - People's, Gay & Fayette Streets
7. Dam - Liberty
8. Filtration Plant - Ashburton
9. Fireboat - "Mayor Thomas D'Alesandro Jr."
10. Fire House - Bel Air Road
11. Fire House - Chesapeake & Childs
12. Fire House - [Defense Center] Cold Spring & Arlington
13. Fire House - Cross Country Boulevard & Glen
14. Fire House - Pulaski & Lakeland
15. Harris Auction Galleries - Door from Palace c.1598, Florence, Italy
16. Health Center - Baltimore Health Center
17. Health Center - Eastern Health Center
18. Hospital - City Hospital Dispensary & Ax room
19. Hospital - City Hospital Infirmary
20. Hospital - City Hospital Sanitarium
21. Housing - Cherry Hill extension
22. Housing - Claremont
23. Housing - Flag House Project
24. Housing - Lafayette
25. Incinerator - Pulaski Highway
26. Library - Athol & Edmondson
27. Library - Garrison Avenue
28. Library - Lark Heights Avenue
29. Market - Bel Air
30. Market - Cross Street
31. Market - Lexington
32. Market - Northeast
33. Museum - Art - Sadie A. Nay addition
34. Pumping Station - Brooklyn
35. Pumping Station - Dundalk
36. Roads, Etc. - Sam Smith Part
37. Sewage - Back River Treatment Plant - Radial Brick Chimney
38. Sewage - Sludge Drying Plant
39. Sewer - Open Sewer - Central Avenue
40. Schools - Benjamin Franklin Junior High
41. Schools - Booker T. Washington
42. Schools - Carver Vocational
43. Schools - Cherry Hill Colored Junior High School
44. Schools - Cross Country
45. Schools - Edison, Barton, Megan
46. Schools - Elmer A. Henderson, Chase, Wolfe, & Biddle
47. Schools - Fallstaff Elementary
48. Schools - Frederick Elementary
49. Schools - Graceland Park, O'Donnell Heights
50. Schools - Leithwalk
51. Schools - Mt. Winans Colored Elementary
52. Schools - Northwood Elementary
53. Schools - Pimmato High, Park Heights
54. Schools - Southwest Baltimore Colored Elementary
55. Schools - West Baltimore Colored Elementary
56. Schools - Wppdirme (Woodburne?) Avenue Junior High
57. Stadium - Kirk Avenue
58. Stadium - Memorial - 33rd Street
59. Swimming Pool - Cherry Hill
60. Swimming Pool - Clifton Park
61. Swimming Pool - Druid Hill
62. Swimming Pool - Patterson Park
63. Swimming Pool - Riverside Park
64. Swimming Pool - Roosevelt Park
65. Viaduct - Russell Street
66. Zoo - Mammal House
67. Viaduct - O'Donnell Street

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip