This is the "Plaintiff's Exhibits" page of the "Thompson vs. HUD" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Digitized archival documents from the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) Collection, held in Langsdale Library Special Collections
Last Updated: Dec 4, 2014 URL: http://ubalt.libguides.com/thompson-v-hud Print Guide

Plaintiff's Exhibits Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

Welcome to the Archives 24/7 access portal to Langsdale Library Special Collections. This guide provides access to archival collections that have been partially scanned and are available for download in PDF format. 

Collections have been scanned to provide access copies for educational use. Each link represents a folder from the archival collection. Clicking a link will open scanned documents in PDF format. Please refer to our citation policiy on this page.

This material is part of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) Collection, Series 3. To see a guide to the complete archival collection, including material not selected for digitization, please refer to our collection guide here.

 

Guide Navigation

Digital content in this guide is divided by archival series. To view additional series in the collection, please use the grey tabs near the top of this page.

 

Questions?

Contact Special Collections:

(410) 837-4253

specialcollections@ubalt.edu

 

Citation Policy

Material may be quoted and digital images may be used from our collections for personal and educational purposes without prior permission, provided appropriate credit is given. When crediting images that are copyrighted by us, please use the citation: Used with permission of the University of Baltimore Langsdale Library Special Collections.

Any commercial use of this material is prohibited without prior permission. Commercial requests for use of images of any material must be submitted in writing to the address below:

Langsdale Library
Special Collections Department
1415 Maryland Avenue Baltimore, MD 21201-5779

 

Box 1. Exhibits 1 to 31A

Exhibit 1 Maps appended to Expert Report of Karl Taeuber 

Exhibit 2 Expert Report of Karl Taeuber

Exhibit 3 Expert Report of Arnold Hirsch

Exhibit 4 Expert Report of John A. Powell 

Exhibit 5 Expert Report of Rolf Pendall 

Exhibit 6 Expert Report of Josef Nathanson

Exhibit 7 Deposition of Peter Conrad at 140-157, 167-68

Exhibit 8 Deposition of Lyle Schumann at 76, 143-147

Exhibit 9 Deposition of Stephen Janes at 17-20, 81-85

Exhibit 10 Deposition of Elizabeth Julian at 7, 19-36, 103-104 

Exhibit 11 Deposition of Laurance D. Pearl in Adker proceeding at 55, 61-63, 66-79, 89-92 

Exhibit 11A Deposition of Peter Kaplan at 51

Exhibit 12 Deposition of William Tamburrino at 35, 56, 119, 162-163, 185, 188

Exhibit 12A Declaration of William Tamburrino

Exhibit 13 Deposition of Thomas Hobbs at 33-37, 123-125, 168-170 

Exhibit 14 Deposition of LaVerne Brooks at 202, 214-215, 267

Exhibit 15 Deposition of David H. Enzel at 135-137, 150 

Exhibit 16 Deposition of Rheba G. Gwaltney at 81-82 

Exhibit 17 Deposition of Christopher W. Hornig at 31-32

Exhibit 18 Deposition of Joseph O'Connor at 145-149, 158-160 

Exhibit 19 Deposition of Daniel P. Henson III at 36-37, 51-52

Exhibit 19A Deposition of Paul Graziano (3/31/03) at 48-57, 71-78, 180, 235-239, 243-247, 249, 251-252, 263-264, 271-272

Exhibit 19B Deposition of Amy Wilkinson (2/25/03) at 146-147 

Exhibit 20 Deposition of Milan M. Ozdinec at 80-81, 125-126

Exhibit 21 Deposition of Dominique Blom at 22, 48-49, 92, 99-100, 102-103, 149-151, 199-200, 202

Exhibit 22 Deposition of P. David Sowell at 68, 100 

Exhibit 23 Deposition of Steven M. Broache at 39-40, 57, 74-76 

Exhibit 24 Deposition of Ruth Gamble at 9-10, 19-20, 41-44, 50

Exhibit 25 Deposition of Michael Kramer at 102, 105-106, 109-114, 282-283, 310-314, 339-340

Exhibit 26 Deposition of Mary Ann Henderson at 120-124

Exhibit 26A Deposition of Lyle Schumann at 445-493, 515-516

Exhibit 27 Secretary Henry G. Cisneros, Testimony before the Housing and Community Opportunity Subcommittee of the House Banking & Financial Services Committee (Oct. 13, 1995) (HUD 01720-33)

Exhibit 27A Henry Cisneros, HUD, Regionalism: The New Geography of Opportunity (March 1999) (PL 071856-74)

Exhibit 28 Statement of George Romney, Secretary, Department of Housing and Urban Development, Before the Senate Select Committee on Equal Educational Opportunity (Aug. 26, 1970) (PL 036033-49)

Exhibit 29 Secretary Andrew Cuomo, Statement Before the Senate Committee on Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs Subcommittee on housing Opportunity and Community Development (April 9, 1997) (HUD 01548-57)

Exhibit 29A Speech by HUD Secretary Andrew Cuomo, NAHRO 1998 Annual Conference (October 25-28, 1998) (HUD 01668-75 at HUD 016673)

Exhibit 30 Roberta Achtenberg, Keynote Address, 143 U. Pa. L. Rev. 1191 (1995) (PL 080139-44)

Exhibit 31 Transcript of speech given by Elizabeth Julian at the Seton Hall symposium on the Mount Laurel Decision (fall 1996) (Julian Dep. Exhibit 36)

Exhibit 31A Executive Order No. 11063 (Nov. 20, 1962) (PL 032112-117)

 

Box 2. Exhibits 32 to 68

Exhibit 32 John J. Knapp, General Counsel, U.S. Dep't of Hous. & Urban Dev., Submission to the Hearing of the House Subcommittee on Housing and Community Development, Committee on Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs, on Discrimination in Assisted Housing (Nov. 1985) (HUD 31200-402):Part 1 &
Part 2

Exhibit 33 John Goering et al., The Location and Racial Composition of Public Housing in the United States (Dec. 1994) ( HUD 00038-147)

Exhibit 34 John Goering, Ali Kamely, Todd Richardson, Poverty Concentration, Office of Policy Development and Research, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development and the Department of Economics, Catholic University Poverty Concentration, Racial Segregation, and Public Housing in the United States (Mar. 1995) (Adker 079319-49)

Exhibit 34A Goering, Housing Desegregation and Federal Policy (1985) (Adker 58208-58554):Part 1;Part 2;Part 3

Exhibit 35 Memorandum from Peter Kaplan, Office of HUD Program Compliance to Gordon H. Mansfield, Assistant Secretary for FHEO (Sept. 16, 1991) (PL 036152-60)

Exhibit 35A Report of the Urban Renewal Study Board to Mayor Thomas D'Alesandro, Jr. (Sept. 12, 1956) (HA 86065-182)

Exhibit 35B Memorandum from Julian Zimmerman, General Counsel to Albert Cole (June 27, 1958) (Adker 68207-11)

Exhibit 36 HUD Notice on Site-Based Waiting Lists, 62 Fed. Reg. 1026 (Jan. 7, 1997)

Exhibit 37 HUD Rule to Deconcentrate Poverty and Promote Integration in Public Housing, 65 Fed. Reg. 20686 (April 17, 2000)

Exhibit 38 HUD, Occupancy Audit, Housing Authority of Baltimore City, March 30- April 22, 1981 (June 30, 1981) (HUDBAL 001131-54)

Exhibit 39 HUD, Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity Monitoring Report, Housing Authority of Baltimore City (Sept. 28, 1988) (0632-37)

Exhibit 40 HUD, Limited Management Review, Housing Authority of Baltimore City, April 21- June 3, 1992 (0178-0187)

Exhibit 41 HUD, Preliminary Letter of Finding, Housing Authority of Baltimore City, Title VI Case Number: 03-97-07-003 (Sept. 24, 1997) (HUD 04078-82)

Exhibit 42 Department of Housing and Urban Development, Notice of Proposed Rule Making on Site and Neighborhood Standards for Subsidized newly-Constructed or Substantially Rehabilitated Housing, 42 Fed. Reg. 4296 (Jan. 24, 1977)

Exhibit 43 Letter from Robert Weaver to the Vice President (July 14, 1965) (PL 035622)

Exhibit 44 HHFA, Inventory of Progress and Activity under Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (1965), Attachment to Letter from Robert Weaver to the Vice President (July 14, 1965) (PL 035623-40)

Exhibit 45 Memorandum from Joseph R. Ray, Racial Relations Service, to Albert M. Cole, Administrator, re: Racial Policy to Govern Administration of HHFA Programs (Aug. 13, 1954) (PL 035421-24)

Exhibit 46 Memorandum from Secretary Jack Kemp to All Regional Administrators (April 25, 1989) (PL 035677-80)

Exhibit 47 News Conference, HUD Secretary Holds News Conference to Discuss the Transformation of Public Housing, 1996 WL 158456 (April 3, 1996)

Exhibit 48 Memorandum from Richard Stearns to Jenkins File (Sept. 13, 1983) (PL 034638-50)

Exhibit 49 Assistant Secretary for Housing Management, Assistant Secretary for Equal Opportunity, HUD, Tenant Selection in the Public Housing Program (1971) (Adker 057982-93)

Exhibit 50 Office of the Administrator, Racial Relations Service, Policy Questions: Staff Discussion or [sic] Staff Papers (Apr. 6, 1953) (PL 035026-28)

Exhibit 52 Council to Get War Housing Site Bill, Baltimore Sun (July 22, 1943) (PL44021-22)

Exhibit 53 Edward Rutledge, Racial Relations Field Officer, PHA, Integration of Racial Minorities in Public Housing Projects (May 1951) (PL 035261-339)

Exhibit 54 Racially Integrated Public Housing Programs: Highlighting 15 Years of Experience (Draft No. 3, Feb. 1952) (PL035261-339)

Exhibit 55 Robert Covell, Management Control Assessment of the HUD Tenant Selection and Assignment Policy (1984) (PL 035261-339)

Exhibit 56 HUD, Low-Rent Housing Administration Program Handbook ch. 9, §1, app. 2, §1d(1)-(7) (June 1969) (PL 036235-39)

Exhibit 57 Larry Pearl paper for Sterling Tucker, Tenant Selection and Assignment in Low-Income Public Housing (1980) (Adker 058164-69)

Exhibit 58 Ted Miller, Mildred DePallo, Kathy Rotendaro, Final Report: Feasibility Research for Public Housing Desegregation Demonstration (May 15, 1985) (Adker 079861-957)

Exhibit 59 Hope VI: Best Practices and lesson Learned 1992-2002, Submitted to the Committee on Appropriations, U.S. House of Representatives, and Committee on Appropriations U.S. Senate in House Report 107-272, Title II (June 14, 2002) (HUD 30170-256)

Exhibit 60 HUD Office of Policy Development and Research , Housing Choice Voucher Location Patterns: Implications for Participant and Neighborhood Welfare (PL 045639-85)

Exhibit 61 Council of State Community Development Agencies, prepared for HUD Office of Policy Development and Research, making Housing Affordable: Breaking Down Regulatory Barriers, A Self Assessment for States (Mar. 19940 (PL 080709-805)

Exhibit 62 HUD Urban Policy Brief, Residential Mobility Programs, Sept. 1994 (PL 045252-57)

Exhibit 63 Office of Policy Development and Research, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, Moving Opportunity for Fair Housing demonstration Program: Commemorating the 30th Anniversary of the Fair Housing Act, Vol. 4, No. 3 (1999) (PL 080483-708):Part 1, Part 2

Exhibit 64 Office of Policy Development and Research, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, Moving Opportunity  for fair Housing Demonstration Program: Current Status and Initial Findings (Sept.1999) (PL 081326-46)

Exhibit 65 Office of Policy Development and Research, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, Regional Housing Opportunities for Lower Income Households: A Resource Guide to Affordable Housing and Regional Mobility Strategies (Mar. 1994) (PL 081215-24)

Exhibit 66 Office of Policy Development and Research, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, Assessing Property Value Impacts of Dispersed Housing Subsidy Programs: Final Report (May1999) (PL 081326-46)

Exhibit 67 Office of Policy Development and Research, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, U.S. Housing Market Conditions (May 2001) (PL 081235-37)

Exhibit 68 U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, Waiting in Vain: an update on America’s rental housing crisis (Mar. 1999) ( PL 081225-31)

 

Box 3. Exhibits 69 to 86

Exhibit 69 Office of Policy Development and Research, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, State and Metropolitan Administration of Section 8: Current Models and Potential Resources, Final Report (Apr. 1997) (PL 081199-214)

Exhibit 70 Garrett Power, Apartheid Baltimore Style: The Residential Segregation Ordinances of 1910-1913, 42 Md. L. Rev. 289 (1983) (PL 007707-48)

Exhibit 71 New Segregation Plan, Baltimore Sun (July 2, 1918) (PL 044015)

Exhibit 72 FHA, Underwriting Manual (Feb. 1938) (PL 032645-52)

Exhibit 72A Residential Security Map, Division of Research and Statistics with Cooperation of Appraisal Dept. Home owners Loan Corp. (May 1, 1937) (PL 061872)

Exhibit 72B Explanation of Residential Security Map, Baltimore, Maryland (undated) (PL 048001-02)

Exhibit 72C Real Estate Situation (undated) (PL 048008-21)

Exhibit 73 Memorandum from Frank Horne to William Ulman (May 9, 1955) (PL 35341-43)

Exhibit 74 Federal Defendants' Answer (April 28, 1995)

Exhibit 75 Answer of the Housing Authority of Baltimore City and its Executive Director Paul W. Graziano to Plaintiffs' Amended and Supplemental Complaint and Answer of the Mayor and City Council of the City of Baltimore to Plaintiffs' Amended and Supplemental Complaint

Exhibit 76 Federal Works Agency, United States Housing Authority, Site Selection Bulletin (Feb. 13, 1939) (PL 34731-36)

Exhibit 76A National Housing Agency, Federal Public Housing Authority, Low Rent Housing Bulletin 18, (Dec. 1, 1945) (HUD 36084-97)

Exhibit 77 Civil Rights Act of 1964, Public Law 88-352, July 2, 1964, Stat. 241 (Dec. 30, 1964)

Exhibit 78 Federal Works Agency/USHAuthority, Procedure for Securing Approval from the Washington Office of a Major Change in a Project, Order No. 267 (Dec. 20, 1939) (PL 34742-43)

Exhibit 79 FHA, USHA, Suggested Proceures for Initial Tenant Selection and Renting (Bulletin No. 31) (Dec. 17, 1939) (PL 034696-729)

Exhibit 80 Report of the Joint Committee on Housing in Baltimore (Mar. 19, 1934) (PL 29615-32)

Exhibit 81 Report of the Associated Architects of Baltimore to the Maryland Emergency Housing and Park Comm'n (undated) (NA 00222-29)

Exhibit 82 Memorandum from Homer Phillips to H. Tudor Morsell, Inspection and Study of Project #2700--Baltimore, Md. (July 30, 1934) (PL 029043-44)

Exhibit 83 Memorandum from W.E. Trevett to E.H. Klaber, Trip to Baltimore on March 31, 1934 (Apr. 2, 1934) (PL 029550-55)

Exhibit 83A Memorandum from Ackerman and Hamilton to Robert D. Kohn, Conference with Housing Commission in Baltimore (Feb. 28, 1934) (PL 029411-18)

Exhibit 84 Plan Up Today in Removal of Negro School, Baltimore Sun (Aug. 1, 1939) (PL 28912)

Exhibit 85 City Negroes Crowded Into Small Living Areas, Baltimore Sun (Feb. 12, 1940) (PL 31004)

Exhibit 86 Memorandum from Roger D. Black, Chief, Management Branch, to Chief, Branch 1, Subject: Project No. H-2704, Baltimore, Recreational, Educational and Social Facilities and Program (May 20, 1935), with attached memorandum from Lewis R. Barrett. Management Supervisor, Subject: Field Trip to Baltimore, Maryland, May 28, 1935 (June 5, 1935) (PL 32627-31)

 

Box 4. Exhibits 100 to 125A

Exhibit 100 Baltimore Housing Authority Yields to Racial Opposition, Baltimore Afro-American (Mar. 27, 1943) (PL 42770-71)

Exhibit 100A Baltimore Urban League, Civil Rights in Baltimore, A Community Audit (January 1950) (PL 030631-38)

Exhibit 100B Memorandum from Ellis Ash to Oliver Winston, Banneker Homes Disposition Plan (April 21, 1952) (PL 032461-64)

Exhibit 100C Negro Housing Foes Cancel Protest, Baltimore Evening Sun (July 26, 1943) (PL 044863-65)

Exhibit 100D Due to Protests, City Officials Seek New Site for Location of 1400 Homes for Negro War Workers (Baltimore Afro-American) (April 17, 1943) (PL 042791-92)

Exhibit 100E Protest Set, Baltimore Sun (April 24, 1943) (PL 042795-96)

Exhibit 101 Crowd of 800 Boos Mayor for Favoring Colored War Homes, Baltimore Afro-American (July 17, 1943) (PL 45131-35)

Exhibit 102 Baltimore Housing Authority Yields to Racial Opposition, Baltimore Afro-American (Mar. 27, 1943) (PL 42770-71)

Exhibit 103 Are Housing Opponents Aligned with Hitler?, News Article (May 23, 1943) (PL 45152)

Exhibit 104 Housing Hearing Slated Sept. 23, news article (Sept. 14, 1943) (PL 44027-28)

Exhibit 105 Pressure for Better Housing Will Continue, Baltimore Afro-American (Oct. 20, 1943) (PL 45120)

Exhibit 106 FPHA Approves 4 Sites Recommended by HAB in Housing of Negroes, Baltimore Sun (Oct. 26, 1943) (PL 45144-47)

Exhibit 106A Map, Baltimore Low Rent and Defense Housing (PL 033966)
Exhibit 106B Housing Programs in Baltimore, 1950 (PL 031640)
Exhibit 106C HABC, Semi-Annual Statistical Bulletin (June 30, 1991) (PL 026759-916)

Exhibit 106D Letter from Charles L. Levy to Mayor D'Alesandro (Oct. 30, 1953) (PL 031650)

Exhibit 106E Memorandum from Victor C. Adler to Burdon O. Young, Proposal to Recommend Disposition of Banneker Homes (July 3, 1952) (PL 031964-65)

Exhibit 107 Letter from C.A. Mohr to Cleveland R. Bealmear (Oct. 3, 1943) (PL 29090-95)

Exhibit 108 Cooperation Agreement Between the Housing Authority of Baltimore City, and the Mayor and City Council of Baltimore (June 17, 1953) (HUD 19929-33)

Exhibit 109 CPHA, Negro Housing (PL 45107-18)

Exhibit 110 CPHA Memorandum on Negro Housing in Metropolitan Baltimore (Aug. 1944) (PL 42858-62)

Exhibit 111 Summary of Meeting re Sollers and Turner Homes (Feb. 16, 1954) (PL 32504)

Exhibit 111A Ralph H. Weese, FHA, Report on the Housing Market: Baltimore, Maryland Standard Metropolitan Area (Sept. 1, 1953) (PL 047139-163)

Exhibit 112 Cleveland R. Bealmear, Post-War Housing Program for Baltimore: General Statement (Jan. 1944) (PL 44791-99)

Exhibit 113 Effects of the Post-War Program on Negro Housing, The Housing Authority of Baltimore City (Sept. 25, 1945) (PL 29085-88)

Exhibit 114 Plan For 7,400 Housing Units Announced, Baltimore Evening Sun
(April 28, 1945) (PL 27227-28)

Exhibit 114A Report of the Urban Renewal Study Board to Mayor Thomas D'Alesandro, Jr. (Sept. 12, 1956) (HA 86065-182)

Exhibit 115 Baltimore City Council Ordinance No. 1077 (Council No. 1772) (Mar. 20, 1950) (PL 33507-12)

Exhibit 115A Dr. Fenn Quits H.A.B.C, Blames City Council, Sunpapers (May 2, 1950) (PL 033973)

Exhibit 115B The Fight for Public Housing in Baltimore (April 1, 1950) (PL 021041-1109)

Exhibit 116 Development Program, Project No. MD 2-14 (Armistead) (Sept. 27, 1950) (PL 30644-54)

Exhibit 117 Development Program, Project No. MD 2-13 (Westport Extension) (Sept. 8, 1950) (PL 30660-71)

Exhibit 118 Sinclair Project Rumor Denied By Mayor, Baltimore Sun (1950) (PL 33783)

Exhibit 119 Development Program, Project No. MD 2-12 (Cherry Hill) (Sept. 8, 1950) (PL 30489-99)

Exhibit 119A Development Program, Project No. MD 2-17 (Cherry Hill) (July 19, 1951) (PL 080293-302)

Exhibit 120 J. Hugh Rose, FHA Housing Analyst, Report on the Current Housing Situation in the Baltimore Housing Market (Jan. 10, 1950) (PL 31778-812)

Exhibit 121 37 Fed. Reg. 203 (Jan. 7, 1972)

Exhibit 122 Edward Rutledge, Housing Director, NYS Commission Against Discrimination (Dec. 2, 1955) (NA 00050-59)

Exhibit 123 Letter from Thomas Perkins to Betty Parker with attached ordinances (July 26, 1989) (HUD 20006-12)

Exhibit 124 Legal Basis for Housing Authority of Baltimore City (undated) (HA 05824-26)

Exhibit 125 Memorandum to the Mayor and City Council from the Baltimore Urban League (July 6, 1950) (PL 33809-12)

Exhibit 125A HABC Monthly Report (June 1950) (PL 023529-78)

 

Box 5. Exhibits 126 to 165

Exhibit 126 City Warned on Two Housing Programs, Baltimore Sun (June 30, 1950) (PL 33807)

Exhibit 127 Letter to Nathaniel S. Keith, Director, Division of Slum Clearance and Urban Development, from Clarence Mitchell, Director, Washington Bureau, NAACP (Dec. 17, 1951) (NA 00162-65)

Exhibit 128 Memorandum to N.S. Keith, Director, DSCUR, from George B. Nesbitt, Special Assistant (Racial Relations), Racial Policy in the Delineation of Project Areas (Aug. 30, 1951) (NA 166-71)

Exhibit 128A Letter from R. L. Steiner to Berl I. Bernhard (June 27, 1961) (PL030881-902)

Exhibit 129 Development Program, Parts I-VII, Project No. MD 2-19, Program Reservation No. MD 2-A, Fremont Avenue, Baltimore 2, Maryland, submitted by housing Authority of Baltimore City (May 29, 1952) (HA 12673-744)

Exhibit 130 HABC, Development Program for MD 2-16 (Flag House) (Mar. 14, 1951) (PL 080282-92)

Exhibit 131 HABC, Development Program MD 2-17 (Lafayette) (Aug. 24, 1951) (PL 080168-244)

Exhibit 132 Housing Officials Begin Plans for Final Project, Baltimore Sun (June 8,1957) (PL 33870)

Exhibit 133 Agency Approves Home Plan Shift, Baltimore Sun (Oct. 4, 1958) (PL 28904)

Exhibit 133A New Home Project Due in the Fall, Baltimore Sun (March 19, 1963) (PL 017024-25)

Exhibit 134 HABC Counsel, Segregation in Public Housing (June 16, 1954) (PL 030609-18)

Exhibit 135 HABC, Racial Occupancy Policy Report (June 24, 1954) (PL 030505-34)

Exhibit 136 Racial Relations Service and Office of the General Counsel, Nondiscrimination Clauses in Regard to Public Housing, Private Housing and Urban Development Undertakings (Oct. 1957) (NA 00041-42)

Exhibit 137 Oliver C. Winston, Executive Director, HABC, Desegregation Address to HABC Employees (June 30, 1954) (PL 030173-88)

Exhibit 138 Letter from Oliver Winston to Charles L. Levy, Director (Nov. 16, 1954) (PL 030326-28)

Exhibit 138A Memorandum from Edgar M. Ewing to Ellis Ash, Further Steps on Implementing Desegregation (April 5, 1955) (PL030535-60)

Exhibit 138B Jacob Fisher to Dear Resident (May 23, 1955) (PL 030547)

Exhibit 139 Ellis Ash, Director of Management, HABC, The Baltimore Story: An Account of the Experience of the Housing Authority of Baltimore City in Developing and Applying a Desegregation Policy to its Low-Rent Public Housing Program (Dec. 9, 1955) (PL 030440-53)

Exhibit 140 Open Occupancy in Public Housing Report (1953) (Adker 056919-51)

Exhibit 141 Edgar Ewing, Untitled Report (Mar. 6, 1953) (PL 031580-87)

Exhibit 142 Draft letter to "Mrs. Smith" (undated) (PL 31569)

Exhibit 143 Memorandum from Ellis Ash to Oliver Winston, Fairfield Situation (Oct. 26, 1954) (PL 31570-71)

Exhibit 144 Letter from Oliver Winston to Honorable Thomas D'Alesandro, Jr. (Aug. 14, 1953) (PL 31572-73)

Exhibit 145 HABC, Notes on Management Division Staff Meeting (Nov. 3, 1954) (PL 030319-21)

Exhibit 146 Tabulation by Cost Center (Dec. 31, 1955, June 30, 1956 and Dec. 31, 1956) (PL 030436-38)

Exhibit 147 Memorandum from Harry Weiss to Edgar Ewing (Feb. 1, 1957) (PL 030736-42)

Exhibit 147A Memorandum from Maulsby (Sept. 11, 1964) (PL 031204-06)

Exhibit 148 Memorandum from Edgar Ewing to Ellis Ash, Planning Meeting on Westport Desegregation (May 22, 1956) (PL 030434-35)

Exhibit 149 Letter from Sara Hartman to Margaret King, with attached occupancy tables (April 17, 1964) (PL 030744-47)

Exhibit 149A BURHA Quarterly Statistical Bulletin, First Quarter 1967 (PL 030936-44)

Exhibit 150 Memorandum from Harry B. Weiss, Director of Housing Management to Edgar Ewing, Subject: Status of Desegregation, with attached handwritten statistics (Nov. 5, 1959) (PL 30752-53)

Exhibit 151 Basis for Revised Requirements for Administration of Low-Rent Housing Under Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, including attached PHA Circular, Title VI of Civil Rights Act of 1964 (Aug. 27, 1965) (PL 036139-50)

Exhibit 152 Memorandum from R. L. Steiner to BURHA Staff listed (Aug. 1, 1966) with attached memorandum from R. L. Steiner to E. R. Pierson and Saul M. Perdue, Interim Report - Recommended Procedures for Filling Standing Vacancies (July 29, 1966) (HA 22686-87)

Exhibit 152A Memorandum from R.L. Steiner to Saul M. Perdue, Interim Report - Recommended Procedures for Filling Standing Vacancies (July 19, 1966) (PL 030346-48)

Exhibit 153 Letter to Residents from R.L. Steiner, BURHA Director (Dec. 22, 1966) (PL 031509-27)

Exhibit 154 Letter from Esther Frank Siegel to Van Story Branch (Dec. 5, 1967) (PL 030329-50)

Exhibit 155 File maintained by Eugene Feinblatt labeled: "Race Relations - Public Housing Integration" (including Letter from R. L. Steiner, Director, BURHA to Donald D. Pomerleau, Commissioner of Police (undated); Resident Says Her Eviction Is Forced by Picketing Kin, Baltimore Sun (Jan. 10, 1967) (HA 22698-700)

Exhibit 156 Letter from R. L. Steiner, Director, BURHA to Dear Resident with handwritten markings (Dec. 20, 1966) (HA 22701)

Exhibit 157 Memorandum entitled Negroes and O'Donnell Heights (undated); handwritten flyer directed to "People of O'Donnell Heights" from the Ad Hoc Committee for Sound Government) (HA 22702-03)

Exhibit 158 Thomas Edsall, D.C. Won't Give Data on Bias Report, Baltimore Sun (Mar. 11, 1967) (PL 033901)

Exhibit 159 Edgar Ewing, Notes on Meeting with the Secretary (Nov. 21, 1966) (HA 09311-16)

Exhibit 160 Low Rent Housing Administration of Program Handbook (July 1967) (PL 036655-60)

Exhibit 161 Memorandum from Oliver Winston, Meeting with Community Agencies, with attached HABC Meeting of Staff on Visiting Community Agencies (Nov. 3, 1954) (PL 31509-27)

Exhibit 162 Memorandum from Van Story Branch to R. C. Embry, Requirements for Administration of Low-Rent Housing Under Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 - Selection of Applicants and Assignment of Dwelling Units (Oct. 16, 1968) (HUD 01637-47)

Exhibit 163 Letter from Vincent A. Marino to Robert C. Embry (Jan. 17, 1969) (0197-98)

Exhibit 164 Letter from Thomas R. Hobbs to Michael Kelly (June 30, 1981) (HUDBAL 001131-54)

Exhibit 165 Letter from Maxine S. Saunders, Manager, Public Housing Division, to Reginald Thomas, Chairperson, Board of Commissioners, HABC, at 1, with attached result of Limited Management Review Report of the Public Housing Program, Apr. 21-June 3, 1992, at 4 (Sept. 14, 1992) (PL 033376-405)

 

Box 6. Exhibits 166 to 195

Exhibit 166 Letter from Barry C. Anderson, Regional Director, FHEO to Robert Hearn, Executive Director, HABC (April 24, 1990) (HUD 02898-99)

Exhibit 167 HABC Semi-Annual Statistical Bulletin (June 1988) (PL 026185-234)

Exhibit 168 HABC Semi-Annual Statistical Bulletin (Dec. 1988) (PL 026335-387)

Exhibit 169 HABC Semi-Annual Statistical Bulletin (Dec. 1991) (PL 026918-70)

Exhibit 169A Application of Carmen Thompson for HABC Housing (March 31, 1987) (PL 01479-80)

Exhibit 169B Housing Authority of Baltimore City, Division of Housing Management, Race of Families by Development (Aug. 21, 1995) (HUD 01616-17)

Exhibit 169C Letter from Dana Peterson Moore to Judry Subar (July 8, 2003) with attached Non-African American in Claremont, O'Donnell Heights, Brooklyn

Exhibit 169D HABC Application for Public Housing and Section 8 Programs for Johnny Lee Jones (Sept. 23, 1991) (HA 83658)

Exhibit 170 Office of General Counsel, USDHUD, Subsidized Housing and Race (Nov. 1985) (PL 036539-98)

Exhibit 171 Memorandum from Robert C. Weaver to the Honorable Harry C. McPherson, Jr., Accomplishments and Problems in Achieving Compliance with Title VI (May 27, 1967) (PL 035662-75)

Exhibit 172 Memorandum from Robert C. Weaver to Edward Baxter, HUD Site Selection Policy Regulations for Low-Rent Public Housing (Sept. 25, 1967) (1146-47)

Exhibit 173 Department of Housing and Community Development, Residential Displacement Activity Analysis 1951-1971 (May 1971) (PL 031032-42)

Exhibit 174 Gary J Kopff, Implementation of HUD Project Selection Criteria for Subsidized Housing (Dec. 1972) (HUD 05147-286)

Exhibit 175 45 Fed. Reg. No. 179 (Sept. 12, 1980) (HUD 03068-78)

Exhibit 176 HABC, McCulloh Extension Development Program MD 2-23, (Dec. 1, 1964) (HA 12648-72)

Exhibit 177 Memorandum from Edward Minor to Ellick Maslan (Aug. 12, 1960) (HA 09236-38)

Exhibit 178 Complaint Filed with Department of Housing and Urban Development, McCulloh Homes Extension Public Housing project, Baltimore, Maryland (HA 22439-66)

Exhibit 178A NAACP News Release (June 24, 1966) (HA 13328-13329)

Exhibit 179 Relocation Fault Found, Baltimore Sun (Feb. 7, 1967) (HA 22247-50)

Exhibit 180 Development Program, Project No. MD 2-25 (Aug. 10, 1965) (HA 12580-625)

Exhibit 180A The People of Mount Winans, BURHA (undated) (PL 031482-84)

Exhibit 181 Development Program, Project No. MD 2-29 (Oct. 4, 1966) (PL 031490-507)

Exhibit 182 Letter from Eugene Feinblatt to Don Hummell, with attachments (Mar. 28, 1967) (HA 22796-803)

Exhibit 183 HABC Response to Neal Request for Admission

Exhibit 184 Baltimore City Council Ordinance No. 1099 (Aug. 7, 1967) (PL 033571-73)

Exhibit 185 Memorandum from Edgar Ewing, Map Showing Turn-Key Locations (Dec. 13, 1967) (HA 22723-44)

Exhibit 186 Letter from Vincent A. Marino, HUD to Richard L. Steiner (Sept. 11, 1967) (HA 16897-98)

Exhibit 187 Memorandum from Steiner to As Listed, with attached materials re Belle Vista site (July 24, 1967) (PL 046215-20)

Exhibit 188 Memorandum from Edgar Ewing to As Listed, with attached materials including Colmar (Dec. 13, 1967) (PL 046222-43)

Exhibit 189 Letter from Eugene Feinblatt to Don Hummell (undated) (PL 029254-56)

Exhibit 190 Letter from Don Hummel to Eugene Feinblatt (Sept. 20, 1967) (PL 029257)

Exhibit 191 Memorandum of Samuel R. Pierce, Jr. to Dick Eudaly (Feb. 28, 1984) (PL 035682-83)

Exhibit 192 Baltimore City Council Ordinance No. 646 (Dec. 15, 1969) (PL 050105-08)

Exhibit 193 Letter from Van Story Branch to Dean Reger, with attached Report on Occupancy (Aug. 23, 1977) (HUD 01574-613)

Exhibit 194 Letter from R. C. Embry to Vincent Marino, HUD (June 26, 1969) (PL 053004-05)

Exhibit 195 HABC Summary of Commission-Staff Discussion (Feb. 17, 1970) (HA 16938-43)

 

Box 7. Exhibits 196 to 227A

Exhibit 196 Letter from Joseph Wiles, President, Rosemont Neighborhood Improvement Association to Robert Embry, DHCD (Mar. 6, 1970) (HA 13645-46)

Exhibit 197 Letter to Robert C. Embry, Jr., Commissioner, HUD, from Joseph S. Wiles, President, Rosemont Neighborhood Improvement Association (July 27, 1970) (HA 3614-19)

Exhibit 198 Letter from Carl Friedler, State Senator to Donald Hummel (Jan. 10, 1969) (PL 050443-44)

Exhibit 199 Letter from R. C. Embry to Donald Hummel (Jan. 17, 1969) (PL 050445-46)

Exhibit 200 Letter from R. C. Embry to William Donald Schaefer (Feb. 6, 1969) (PL 050449-50)

Exhibit 201 Baltimore City Council Ordinance No. 583 (PL 050447-48)

Exhibit 202 Letter from Don Hummel to Carl Friedler (Jan. 24, 1969) (HA 13544)

Exhibit 203 Memorandum from Maxine Cunningham to Thomas Hobbs, FHEO Site Review - Upton - Section 236 - 180 units (Mar. 13, 1979) (HUDBAL 000512-14)

Exhibit 204 Robert Orser to R. C. Embry (July 26, 1976) (HA 13541)

Exhibit 205 Excerpts from Murphy Homes/Emerson Julian Gardens HOPE VI Revitalization Grant Proposal (July 18, 1997) (HA 38657-757)

Exhibit 206 Letter from Vincent Marino to Robert Embry (Feb. 25, 1970) (HA 12512-13)

Exhibit 207 Rosedale Farms at 5 (MD 2-45) (HA 3585-89)

Exhibit 208 Memorandum from Milt Smeekle (DHCD) to Sterling Keyes re: Rosedale Farms (Mar. 19, 1970) (HA 16733)

Exhibit 209 Letter from R. C. Embry to Vincent Marino (Nov. 10, 1969) (PL 053011-13)

Exhibit 210 Baltimore City Council Ordinance No. 643 (Dec. 8, 1969) (PL 033589-592)

Exhibit 211 Letter from Harold Finger to R. C. Embry (May 28, 1970) (HA 12504-05)

Exhibit 212 Letter from Allen T. Clapp to Robert C. Embry, with attached Memorandum (Dec. 26, 1972) (HA 12412-26)

Exhibit 213 Robert N. Young, Review and Comment Transmittal Memorandum, Metropolitan Clearinghouse (HA 16647-73)

Exhibit 214 Memorandum from Tunji Oyenusi to Suzanne Graham, Hollander Ridge Research - History, with attachments (Nov. 4, 1997) (HR 007155-59)

Exhibit 215 Memorandum from Suzanne Kirby to Stanley Campbell (April 1, 1976) (HA 16721)

Exhibit 215A Project's neighbors torn between fear, envy, Baltimore Sun (Feb. 20, 1977) (PL 025712-13)

Exhibit 216 Abt Report, Public Housing Stock Viability Assessment, Hollander Ridge (September 24, 1996) (HUD 02148-254)

Exhibit 217 HABC's Responses to Plaintiffs' Requests for Admissions Concerning Facts

Exhibit 218 Email from Harold Jackson to Candace Simms (Sept. 6, 1996) (HUD 06374-75)

Exhibit 219 Letter from M. J. Brodie to Thomas R. Hobbs (Nov. 28, 1980) (HUD 3907-4045)

Exhibit 220 Memorandum of Understanding, Patapsco Park Apartments (April 6, 1981) (HUD 03881-90)

Exhibit 221 Letter from Thomas R. Hobbs to M. J. Brodie (Feb. 4, 1981) (HUDBAL 037030-37)

Exhibit 222 Baltimore City Council Ordinance No. 293 (Mar. 16, 1977) (PL 033614)

Exhibit 222A Baltimore City Council Ordinance No. 459 (May 21, 1969) (PL 033579)

Exhibit 223 Memorandum from Lawrence Simons to Thomas Hobbs (Nov. 22, 1978) (1356-1359)

Exhibit 223A Memorandum from Rheba G. Gwaltney to Thomas R. Hobbs, FHEO Review - Preliminary Site Reports, Vacant House Program - Acquisition with Rehabilitation MD 2-69 and MD 2-72 (April 22, 1983) (HUDBAL 003918-66)

Exhibit 224 Development Program, Project No. MD 2-24, Harlem Park (Oct. 5, 1965) (HA 12626-47)

Exhibit 225 Letter from R. C. Embry to Everett Rothschild (Aug. 9, 1976) (HUD 1897-930)

Exhibit 226 Memorandum from Jackson Cronk to Maxine Cunningham (Sept. 10, 1976) (HUDBAL 3481)

Exhibit 227 Letter from M. J. Brodie to Everette H. Rothschild (August 1, 1978) (HUD 03511-14)

Exhibit 227A Letter from Thomas R. Hobbs to M. J. Brodie (Dec. 5, 1978)(1282-1284)

 

Box 8. Exhibits 228 to 260

Exhibit 228 Letter from M. J. Brodie to Thomas Hobbs with attached Report (July 13, 1979) (HUDBAL 001674-726)

Exhibit 229 Memorandum from Lawrence B. Simons to Thomas Hobbs, Request for Waivers - Public Housing Program Acquisition with Rehabilitation Projects MD-2-64, MD-2-65, MD-2-66, MD-2-67, MD-2-68 (Aug. 30, 1979) (1356-1359)

Exhibit 230 Letter from M. J. Brodie to Thomas R. Hobbs, with attached documents (Mar. 3, 1980) (HUDBAL 3076-119)

Exhibit 231 Memorandum from Rheba Milberry to Thomas Hobbs, FHEO Review- MD 2-69 (May 21, 1980) (HUDBAL 03075)

Exhibit 232 Letter from M. J. Brodie to Thomas R. Hobbs with attachments (Oct. 21, 1980) (HUDBAL 123-63)

Exhibit 232A Letter from M.J. Brodie to Thomas Hobbs with attachment (Jan. 16, 1980) (HUDBAL 001227-31)

Exhibit 232B Scattered Site Monthly Status Reports (HUDBAL 003554-669)

Exhibit 232C Letter from M. J. Brodie, Executive Director to Thomas R. Hobbs, HUD (July 2, 1982) (HUD 1303-1307)

Exhibit 232D Letter from M. J. Brodie, Executive Director to Thomas R. Hobbs, HUD (April 15, 1983) (HA 9091-9099)

Exhibit 233 Memorandum from Rheba Milberry to Thomas Hobbs, Preliminary Site Report Review (Dec. 15, 1980) (HUDBAL 000165)

Exhibit 234 Memorandum from Rheba Gwaltney to Thomas Hobbs, Review of Development Program, Baltimore City, MD 2-72 (Sept. 15, 1981)(HUDBAL 000108-20)

Exhibit 235 Letter from Thomas R. Hobbs to M. J. Brodie (Sept. 30, 1981) (HUDBAL 000105-07)

Exhibit 236 City of Baltimore, Planning Grant Application: Title I of the Demonstration Cities and Metropolitan Act of 1966 (PL 081999-82038)

Exhibit 237 HUD, Low-Rent Housing: Leased Housing Handbook, (Nov. 1969) (HA 8943-9005)

Exhibit 238 Van Story Branch, Progress Report for Leased Housing, (Oct. 25, 1968) (PL 030810-18)

Exhibit 238A Memorandum from Marie McGuire to Vincent Marino (March 15, 1967) (PL 032418)

Exhibit 239 BURHA, Leased Housing Program Overview and Operating Order (June 29, 1966) (PL 030766-71)

Exhibit 240 Memorandum from Marie C. McGuire, Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary to Don Hummel, Assistant Secretary (Jan. 23, 1967) (PL 029258)

Exhibit 241 Memorandum from Robert Weaver to Don Hummel (Feb. 15, 1967) (PL 029259)

Exhibit 242 Letter from Don Hummel to Richard L. Steiner (Mar. 10, 1967) (PL 029260-62)

Exhibit 242A Recommendations and Analysis: Baltimore Urban Renewal and Housing Agency and Department of Housing and Urban Development, The Activists for Fair Housing (August 1966) (PL 049008-21)

Exhibit 243 Van Story Branch, Experience to Date with Leased and Used Housing Programs, Draft and Comments (June 18, 1970) (PL 030828-36)

Exhibit 243A Memorandum from Van Story Branch to R. C. Embry, Phase-Out of the Leased Housing Program, MD 2-30 (April 12, 1976) (PL 030864-70)

Exhibit 244 Letter from Marino to Moyer (June 27, 1968) (PL 030788-95)

Exhibit 245 Memorandum from Harry Weiss to Ellick Maslan (April 28, 1961) (HA 09217)

Exhibit 246 Potential Public Housing Sites, Baltimore, Maryland (Aug. 19, 1960) (HA 09227)

Exhibit 246A R. C. Orser, Chronology - Development Program - 741 DUs (March 9, 1965) (HA 22549)

Exhibit 247 MCC Responses to Neal's Request for Admission

Exhibit 248 Vacant Turnkey Public housing Sites for Review, with attachments (date unreadable) (HA 14766-79)

Exhibit 249 Memorandum from R. S. Moyer, Recommended Vacant Sites for Turnkey Public Housing (May 17, 1968) (HA 14780-82)

Exhibit 250 HABC Summary of Commission-Staff Discussion (Feb. 17, 1979) (HA 16938-43)

Exhibit 251 Letter from R. C. Embry to Vincent Marino (Nov. 10, 1969)(HA 13344-52)

Exhibit 252 Letter from Henry R. Lord to Joseph Burstein (August 12, 1968) (HA 16976-78)

Exhibit 253 Minutes, Board of Estimates (Feb. 8, 1968) (PL 049833-35)

Exhibit 254 Letter from Robert Hearn to Dean Reger (Jan. 5, 1990) (HUD 027562-85)

Exhibit 255 Memorandum from LaVerne Brooks to Dean Reger, FHEO Site Review (May 16, 1990) (PL 32976)

Exhibit 256 Letter from Thomas Hobbs to M. J. Brodie (Mar. 19, 1982) (HUD 3341-3342)

Exhibit 257 Letter from Harold Jackson to Robert Hearn with attached Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity Monitoring Review (Sept. 30, 1991) (HUD 27553-27561)

Exhibit 258 Memorandum from Maxine Saunders to Barry Anderson (Nov. 6, 1990) (HUDBAL 000291-93)

Exhibit 259 Letter from Barry C. Anderson to Robert Hearn (Aug. 24, 1990)(199-200)

Exhibit 260 Letter from Walter Valentine, Director of Program Operations and Compliance, Office of FHEO, to Daniel Henson, Preliminary Letter of Finding (Sept. 25, 1997) (0393-97)

 

Box 9. Exhibits 261 to 290

Exhibit 261 Voluntary Compliance Agreement Between HUD and HABC (April 20, 1998) (HUD 04086-94)

Exhibit 262 Letter from Walter Valentine, Director of Program Operations and Compliance, Office of FHEO, to Daniel Henson, HABC Title VI Case Number 03-97-07-009 (340) (July 11, 1997) (1014-17)

Exhibit 263 Memorandum of Laverne Brooks to Dudley Gregory (Apr. 13, 1990) (0773)

Exhibit 264 Memorandum of Harold Jackson to Laverne Brooks (Apr. 30, 1990) (0774)

Exhibit 265 Letter from Robert Hearn to St. George I. B. Crosse, with attachments (Oct. 16, 1989) (0661-88)

Exhibit 266 Letter from Dean Reger to Robert Hearn (Apr. 13, 1990) (0764-72)

Exhibit 267 Letter from Robert Hearn to Dean Reger with attached Response to HUD's Annual In-House Audit Review (May 18, 1990) (0775-0814)

Exhibit 268 Analysis of Impediments to Fair Housing in the Baltimore Metropolitan Area, (Nov. 1996) (HA 61919-90):Part1, Part 2

Exhibit 269 HABC Responses to Harris Request for Admissions

Exhibit 270 Letter from Thomas R. Hobbs to Marion Pines (April 6, 1984) (HA 13904-11)

Exhibit 271 Letter from Marion Pines to Thomas R. Hobbs (April 24, 1984) (HA 13903)

Exhibit 272 Application MD 2-77 and MD 2-78 (April 24, 1984) (HA 13912-42)

Exhibit 273 Fund Reservation from Thomas Hobbs to Marion Pines (July 24, 1984) (HA 13883-87)

Exhibit 274 Letter from Thomas R. Hobbs to Marion Pines (Aug. 10, 1984) (HA 13880-82)

Exhibit 275 Letter from Marion Pines to Thomas R. Hobbs (Aug. 24, 1984) (HA 13869-79)

Exhibit 276 Letter from Thomas R. Hobbs to Marion W. Pines (June 3, 1985) (HA 13891-902)

Exhibit 277 Letter from Thomas R. Hobbs to Marion Pines (Mar. 19, 1986) (HA 13888-90)

Exhibit 278 Memorandum from Stan Campbell to Robert Ferguson, with attached Relocation Plan (Feb. 5, 1986) (HA 13686-707)

Exhibit 278A Letter from St. George I. B. Crosse to Robert Hearn (Jan. 9, 1989) (HA 14019-021)

Exhibit 278B Weekly Rehabilitation -- Progress Report, March 1989 (HA 13952-59)

Exhibit 278C Weekly Rehabilitation -- Progress Report, June 1990 (HA 13758-60)

Exhibit 278D Letter from Michael Janis to William Schmidt (Nov. 16, 1990) (HA 14025-26)

Exhibit 278E Baltimore City CDBG Program, 1989 Performance Report (MCC 000526-731):Part 1, Part 2

Exhibit 278F Baltimore City CDBG Program 1990 Performance Report (MCC 000732-915): Part 1, Part 2

Exhibit 278G Development Cost Budget/Cost Statement, Project MD 2-77 (Dec. 31, 1992) (HA 14027-29)

Exhibit 279 Letter from Maxine Saunders to Robert Hearn (Jan. 6, 1993) (HA 14030-31)

Exhibit 280 Fax from Yves Djoko to Cassandra Loving, with attachment Units Proposed for Demolition (Dec. 10, 1998) (HUD 07012-13)

Exhibit 281 Disposition Application for Holy Nativity and St. John's Development Corporation at HA 44009 (April 2002) (HA 43992-44066)

Exhibit 282 Fairfield Replacement proposed Locations (Feb. 4, 1994) (HUDBAL 016242-66)

Exhibit 283 Letter from St. George I. B. Crosse, Manager, HUD to Marion Pines, Commissioner, Neighborhood Progress Administration (Sept. 30, 1987) (HUD 20168-69)

Exhibit 284 Memorandum from James S. Kelly to St. George I. B. Crosse (Mar. 3, 1988) (PL 032753-54)

Exhibit 285 Chart: Fairfield Replacement Housing Sites (Mar. 31, 1993) (PL 033158-67)

Exhibit 286 Memorandum from Rheba G. Gwaltney, Director FHEO Division to St. George I. B. Crosse, Manager (Sept. 8, 1988) (HUD 4154)

Exhibit 287 Memorandum from Rheba G. Gwaltney, Director FHEO to St. George I. B. Crosse, Manager (Feb. 27, 1989) (HUD 20217-18)

Exhibit 288 Letter from Robert W. Hearn, Executive Director HABC to St. George I. B. Crosse, Manager HUD (April 14, 1989) (HUDBAL 014286-90)

Exhibit 289 Letter from St. George I. B. Crosse, Manager, Baltimore HUD to Robert W. Hearn, Executive Director HABC (Sept. 26, 1989) (PL 032943-46)

Exhibit 290 Letter from Robert W. Hearn, Executive Director HABC to St. George I. B. Crosse, HUD (July 31, 1989) (PL 032934-36)

 

Box 10. Exhibits 291 to 338

Exhibit 291 Memorandum from Harry W. Staller, Acting Regional Administrator, HUD to Kirk Gray, Director, Office of Public Housing, HUD (Sept. 25, 1989) (HUD 19999-20001)

Exhibit 292 City of Baltimore, Resolution No. 24 (Jan. 18, 1990) (HUDBAL 13540-46)

Exhibit 293 HABC Response to Harris Request for Admission

Exhibit 294 Letter from St. George I. B. Crosse, Manager to Robert W. Hearn, Executive Director, HABC (Nov. 30, 1989) (PL 032950-51)

Exhibit 295 Memorandum from William Tamburrino to Maxine Saunders (May 7, 1993) (HUDBAL 013721-22)

Exhibit 296 Memorandum from William Tamburrino to Maxine Saunders (May 17, 1993) (HUDBAL 013723-24)

Exhibit 297 Letter from Alexander to Simms, with attached Memorandum from Steve Janes, Impact Study, Follow-up materials (June 11, 1993) (HUD 4205-15)

Exhibit 298 Handwritten Meeting notes (June 16, 1993) (PL 033210-12)

Exhibit 299 Letter from Daniel Henson to Maxine Saunders, with attachments (June 16, 1993) (HUD 4194-98)

Exhibit 300 Memorandum from Rodney Camphor to Harold Jackson (June 17, 1993) (HUDBAL 3021)

Exhibit 301 Memorandum from Harold Jackson to Melissa Peters (June 28, 1993) (PL 033219)

Exhibit 302 Letter from Maxine Saunders to Daniel Henson, with attachment (July 7, 1993) (PL 033220-29)

Exhibit 303 Federal Defendants' Motion to Dismiss, or, in the Alternative, for Summary Judgment

Exhibit 304 Memorandum from Michael B. Janis, General Deputy Assistant Secretary PIH to Marry W. Staller, Deputy Regional Administrator (Aug. 20, 1990) (HUD 19965-68)

Exhibit 305 HUD Transmittal, Handbook No.: 7417.1 REV-1 CHG 8 (May 4, 1990) (PL 036258-68)

Exhibit 306 Letter from Maxine Saunders, Manager HUD to Robert W. Hearn, Executive Director, HABC (Oct. 10, 1990) (HUD 19940)

Exhibit 307 Memorandum from Harold S. Jackson, Director FHEO Division to Maxine Saunders, Manager (Jan. 16, 1992) (PL 33062)

Exhibit 308 Letter from Maxine S. Saunders, Manager to Robert W. Hearn, Executive Director, HABC (April 1, 1992) (HA 18661-63)

Exhibit 309 Letter from Robert W. Hearn, Executive Director, HABC to John Cain, Nicholas D'Adamo and Perry Sifcas, Baltimore City Council (Sept. 10, 1992) (HA 06026)

Exhibit 310 Letter from Robert W. Hearn, Executive Director, HABC to Joseph G. Schiff, Assistant Secretary, HUD (Sept. 8, 1992) (PL 33095-98)

Exhibit 311 Memorandum from Michael A. Smerconish, Regional Administrator to Joseph G. Schiff, Assistant Secretary (Oct. 27, 1992) (PL 33102-04)

Exhibit 312 Minutes of Meeting, HUD Manager's Conference Room, (Dec. 18, 1992) (PL 033121-22)

Exhibit 313 Memorandum from LaVerne L. Brooks, Acting Director, FHEO Division to Dean K. Reger, Acting Manager (May 16, 1990) (HUDBAL 019853)

Exhibit 314 HUD internal memorandum from Candace Simms to Mary Ann Henderson and Melissa Peters (Feb. 12, 1993) (PL 033147)

Exhibit 315 Letter from Maxine Saunders, Manager to Robert W. Hearn, Executive Director, HABC (Sept. 30, 1992) (HA 36381-89)

Exhibit 316 Declaration of LaRaye Holcomb (April 1, 2001)

Exhibit 317 Memorandum from Carnelious Harrison to Steve Broach with attachments July 13, 2001) (PL 082039-46)

Exhibit 318 Letter Maxine S. Saunders, Manager to Daniel P. Henson, Acting Executive Director, HABC (April 2, 1993) (PL 033168-70)

Exhibit 319 Internal HUD Memorandum from Harold S. Jackson to Candace Simms (Aug. 16, 1993) (PL 033236)

Exhibit 320 Federal Defendants' Response to Plaintiffs' Request for Admissions

Exhibit 321 Letter from Candace Simms to Daniel Henson (April 4, 1994) (HUDBAL 014042)

Exhibit 322 Letter from Bill Tamburrino, Director Public Housing Division, HUD to Daniel P. Henson, Executive Director, HABC (June 13, 1994) (HUDBAL 014342-46)

Exhibit 323 Letter from Bill Tamburrino to Daniel P. Henson (July 1994) (HUDBAL 014626)

Exhibit 324 Production Control Chart (Aug. 5, 1994) (HUDBAL 021986-998)

Exhibit 325 Letter from Candace Simms, Director, Housing Development Division to Daniel P. Henson (Aug. 31, 1994) (HUDBAL 013352-55)

Exhibit 326 Letter from Daniel Henson to William Tamburrino (Sept. 30, 1994) (HUDBAL 022002-03)

Exhibit 327 Letter from William Tamburrino to Daniel Henson (Nov. 17, 1994) (HUDBAL 22081-82)

Exhibit 328 Letter from David K. Elam, HABC to Candace Simms, HUD (Dec. 10, 1993), with attached map (PL 033253-54)

Exhibit 329 Letter from Candace Simms, HUD to David Elam (Feb. 9, 1994) (PL 033275)

Exhibit 330 Memorandum from Candi Simms to Bill Tamburrino (Aug. 24, 1994) (HUDBAL 014428)

Exhibit 331 Memorandum from Harold Jackson, Director, FHEO Division to Candace S. Simms, Director, HUD (April 8, 1994) (HUDBAL 013407)

Exhibit 332 Letter from Candace S. Simms, Director HDD to David Elam, HABC (April 21, 1994) (HUDBAL 013410)

Exhibit 333 Draft letter from William Tamburrino, Director to David Elam, HABC, with attached appraisals and transmittal memo from HABC (July 25, 1994) (HUDBAL 014437-53)

Exhibit 334 Fairfield handwritten meeting notes (May 2, 1994) (HUDBAL 013386)

Exhibit 335 Rapid Reply letter from Candace Simms to Jim Kintz (April 8, 1984) (HUDBAL 013390-94)

Exhibit 336 Memorandum from Daniel P. Henson, Executive Director, HABC to Eric C. Brown, Deputy Executive Director, HABC (Feb. 10, 1995) (HA 5334-35)

Exhibit 337 Settlement Statement (HA 5331-32)

Exhibit 338 Letter from Donna Poggi Keck, HABC to Yvonne Johnson, Maryland (Sept. 29, 1994) (PL 49101)

 

Box 11. Exhibits 339 to 439

Exhibit 339 FY 2001 HOPE VI Revitalization and Demolition Application Kit (Blom Dep. Ex. 15) (PL 64170-466)

Exhibit 340 Daniel P. Henson to Current Resident of Hollander Ridge, Re: Emergency Temporary Moves (Oct. 15, 1999) (PL 052776-78)

Exhibit 341 Letter from Bill Tamburrino to Daniel P. Henson (June 26, 1996) (PL 048970- 048992)

Exhibit 342 Memorandum by Susan Gaffney to Henry G. Cisneros, Kevin E. Marchman, Elizabeth K. Julian (Mar. 19, 1996) (PX 11)

Exhibit 343 Letter from C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger to Henry G. Cisneros (July 9, 1996) (Julian Dep. Ex. 34)

Exhibit 344 Notice of Intent to Request Release of Funds, Baltimore County, Maryland (Jan. 28, 1997) (PL 044989)

Exhibit 345 Letter from Barbara A. Mikulski to Henry Cisneros (Sept. 3, 1996) (Julian Dep. Ex. 35)

Exhibit 346 Memorandum from Patricia Payne to Fred Puddester, Re: "Hot News" Items Regarding DHCD Activity (April 17, 1996) (PX 13)

Exhibit 347 U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, HOPE VI Assistance Award-Amendment (Jan. 10, 1997) (PX 37)

Exhibit 348 E-mail from Dominique Blom to Marsha Cayford and Sharon Scharf with attached "Comments and Questions on Hollander Ridge RP" (Aug. 20, 1999) (HUD 26428-29)

Exhibit 349 Hollander Ridge HOPE VI Application (Sept. 10, 1996) (HA 40238-444):Part 1Part 2

Exhibit 350 Memorandum For Henry Cisneros, Secretary from Kevin Emanuel Marchman, Acting Assistant Secretary, Office of Public and Indian Housing, Re: Recommendations for 1996 HOPE VI Grants (Oct. 21, 1996) (PX 30)

Exhibit 351 Letter from Daniel P. Henson to Rod Solomon, Re: Viability Assessment, Hollander Ridge (Mar. 24, 1997) (HUD 18312-13)

Exhibit 352 Letter from Daniel P. Henson to Honorable Louis DePazzo (Oct. 20, 1997) (PX 74)

Exhibit 353 Letter from Daniel P. Henson to Kevin Emanual Marchman, Re: Hollander Ridge HOPE VI Grant Agreement (Nov. 12, 1997) (PX 79)

Exhibit 354 Letter from Robert L. Ehrlich to Andrew Cuomo (Nov. 14, 1997) (PX 80)

Exhibit 355 Letter from Nancy M. Leiter to Mayor Kurt Schmoke (Dec. 12, 1997) (PX 86)

Exhibit 356 Federal Defendants' Response to Plaintiffs' Post-Hearing Memorandum in Opposition to Local Defendants' Motion to Amend Section XII of the Partial Consent Decree

Exhibit 357 Declaration of Deborah Vincent (Dec. 18, 1998)

Exhibit 358 Letter from Deborah Vincent to Daniel Henson (Nov. 24, 1998) (HUDA 00041-43)

Exhibit 359 Letter from Daniel P. Henson to Louis L. DePazzo (Oct. 20, 1997) (PX 74)

Exhibit 360 Testimony of Linda Walker (Dec. 1, 1998)

Exhibit 361 Mayor's meeting Agenda, Hollander Ridge Resident Council (April 3, 1998) (PX 124)

Exhibit 362 E-mail from William D. Tamburrino to Sharon L. Scharf, Re: Relocation at Hollander Ridge (April 2, 1999) (HUD 26241-42)

Exhibit 363 Demolition/Disposition Application submitted by HABC to U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development Office of Public and Indian Housing (Feb. 5, 1999) (HUDA-00044-72)

Exhibit 364 Daniel P. Henson to Helen Fair, Notice of Displacement (May 25, 1999) (PL 052771-75)

Exhibit 365 Memorandum from Harold Lucas to William D. Tamburrino (Mar. 28, 2000) (HUDA-00027-34)

Exhibit 366 E-mail from Donna Keck to various HABC staff (July 31, 1997) (PX 213)

Exhibit 367 HUD, Section 8 Tenant-Based Housing Assistance: A Look Back After 30 Years (Mar. 2000) (HUD 01215-73)

Exhibit 368 HUD, "HOPE VI Best Practices and Lessons Learned 1992-2002", Submitted to Committee on Appropriations, U.S. House of Representatives, Committee on Appropriations, U.S. Senate, Pursuant to House Report, Title II (June 14, 2002) (PL 081380-468)

Exhibit 369 Letter from Unabyrd L. Ervin-Jones to M. Jay Brodie (Dec. 30, 1999) (HUD 04301-319)

Exhibit 370 Letter from Unabyrd L. Ervin-Jones to Paul Graziano, with attachments (Nov. 19, 2001) (HUD 21520-28)

Exhibit 371 Letter from Harold Lucas to Patricia Payne (Mar. 28, 2000) (HA31218-20)

Exhibit 372 Letter from Patricia Payne to Harold Young (June 27, 2000) (HUD 06005-09)

Exhibit 373 Letter from Harold Lucas to Patricia Payne (July 31, 2000) (HUD 05999-06004)

Exhibit 374 GAO Report to Congress, Public Housing Funding and Other Constraints Limit Housing Authorities' Ability to Comply with One-for-One Rule (Mar. 1995) (PL 050726-050757)

Exhibit 375 "Not in My Back Yard", Removing Barriers to Affordable Housing, Report to President Bush and Secretary Kemp by the Advisory Commission on Regulatory Barriers to Affordable Housing (1991) (PL 050478-632)

Exhibit 376 Letter from Paul Graziano to Milan Ozdinec with attached Plan for Hollander Ridge Funds (Feb. 28, 2001) (HUD 03028-38)

Exhibit 377 Letter from Gloria Cousar to Paul Graziano (April 18, 2001) (HUD 03039-40)

Exhibit 378 Declaration of Milan Ozdinec (Mar. 20, 2002)

Exhibit 379 Cherry Hill 17 Partial Demolition/Disposition Request (Mar. 24, 1997) (PL 045057-105)

Exhibit 380 Letter from Bill Tamburrino to Daniel P. Henson (Oct. 17, 1997) (HUD 04505-06)

Exhibit 381 Letter from Kevin Emanuel Marchman, Acting Assistant Secretary, to Daniel P. Henson (Oct. 14, 1997) (HUD 14671-81)

Exhibit 382 Letter from Daniel P. Henson, Executive Director, HABC to Elinor Bacon, Deputy Assistant Secretary (Feb. 2, 1998) (HUD 18824-27)

Exhibit 383 Letter from Loretta Johnson, President, Cherry Hill Tenant Council to Deborah Vincent, Assistant Secretary, HUD (April 19, 1999) (HUD 14159-63)

Exhibit 384 Letter from Daniel P. Henson, Executive Director, HABC to Deborah Vincent, Assistant Secretary, HUD (May 3, 1999) (HUD 14154-58)

Exhibit 385 Memorandum from Charlotte Sobel to Dominique Blom, David Sowell, Regarding Letter to Deborah Vincent from CHTC (May 6, 1999) (HUD 25990-91)

Exhibit 386 Memorandum from Robert S. Kenison, Associate General Counsel, HUD to Elinor Bacon, Deputy Assistant Secretary, HUD (April 23, 1998) (F2:00035-41)

Exhibit 387 Memorandum from Ainars Rodins, Special Applications Center, HUD to David Sowell, Director, OPHP (Sept. 30, 1999) (HUD 18463)

Exhibit 388 Charles K. Anderson Demolition/Disposition, submitted By HABC to Paul Graziano (June 2002) (HUD 30297-390)

Exhibit 389 Letter from Ainars Rodins, Director, to Paul Graziano (Nov. 8, 2002) (HUD 30281-82)

Exhibit 390 HABC PHA Plans, 5 year Plan for FY 2000-2004 (PHA Plan 2000) (HA 25251, 25262-67, 25419)

Exhibit 391 Application for Demolition of Scattered Site Units, HABC (Sept. 1, 1998) (HA 43397-488)

Exhibit 392 Letter from Harold Lucas, Assistant Secretary to Daniel Henson (Oct. 7, 1999) (HUD 06939-67)

Exhibit 393 Letter from M. Liu to Paul Graziano (Jan. 28, 2002) (HUDBAL 24465-70)

Exhibit 394 Letter from Michael Liu to Paul Graziano (Dec. 5, 2001) (HUD 10632-37)

Exhibit 395 Letter from Joseph Shuldiner, Assistant Secretary, to Daniel Henson (Sept. 29, 1995) (HUD 06615-21)

Exhibit 396 Letter from Deborah Vincent, General Deputy Assistant Secretary to Daniel Henson (Sept. 3, 1998) (HUDBAL 025453-55)

Exhibit 397 John Goering, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, Promoting Housing Choice in HUD's Rental Assistance Programs, A Report to Congress (April 1995) (PL 046930-7033)

Exhibit 398 Letter from Maxine Saunders to Robert W. Hearn (May 5, 1992), with attached Management Review, Section 8 Certificate and Voucher Programs (Feb. 18-21, 1992) (HA 06083-112)

Exhibit 399 U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, Notice of Final Rule Governing Admission to the Section 8 Certificate and Voucher Programs (Aug. 31, 1994) (PL 046290-96)

Exhibit 400 Letter from Unabyrd Ervin-Jones, HUD to Paul Graziano, HABC (Sept. 18, 2001) (HUD 1274-75)

Exhibit 401 OIG Audit Report, Housing Authority of Baltimore City, Section 8 Certificate and Voucher Programs (Mar. 28, 2001) (HUD 09265-326)

Exhibit 402 Recommendations and Analysis: Baltimore Urban Renewal and Housing Agency and Department of Housing and Urban Development, The Activists for Fair Housing (August 1966) (PL 049008-21)

Exhibit 403 Letter from R.C. Embry, Jr. to Vincent A. Marino (June 26, 1969) (PL 053004-05)

Exhibit 404 Email from Daniel P. Henson III to Estella Alexander (July 17, 1997) (PX 217)

Exhibit 407 Table of Project Racial Composition

Exhibit 408 Memorandum from Patricia Payne, Commissioner HCD to Laurie Schwartz, Deputy Mayor, HABC 15 Property Board Letter Submittal Summary (Oct. 10, 2000) (BW 00021-22)

Exhibit 409 Letter from Mayor Martin O'Malley to Patricia Payne, HABC (July 27, 2000) (BW 00029)

Exhibit 410 Executed sales contracts for various properties (BW 00356-366)

Exhibit 411 Memorandum from Patricia Payne, Commissioner to President and Members of the Board of Estimates, HABC 40 Replacement Housing Units in Non-Impacted Areas (Aug. 14, 2000) (BW 00026-27.01)

Exhibit 413 Public Housing Strategy Riles Baltimore Neighbors, Washington Post (Nov. 9, 2000) (PL 075128-075129)

Exhibit 414 Letter from Paul Graziano, HABC to Harold Young, HUD (Jan. 2, 2001) (BW 00353)

Exhibit 415 Letter from Harold Young, HUD, to Denise Duval, HABC (Jan. 11, 2001) (BW 00350)

Exhibit 416 Excerpts from Baltimore City Land Disposition Records for Montgomery Urban Renewal Area 

Exhibit 417 Memorandum from M. J. Brodie to Honorable President and Members of the Board of Estimates, Recommendation to Approve Disposition Agreement, 708 S. Sharp Street, Montgomery Urban Renewal Area, and attached Agreement (Nov. 3, 1982) (BC 001457-87)

Exhibit 418 Baltimore City Council Ordinance No. 80, Urban Renewal - Canton Waterfront - Renewal Area (June 5, 1984) (PL 076768-774)

Exhibit 419 Land Disposition Agreement between the Mayor and City council of Baltimore and A & R/Waterford Joint Venture (Nov. 26, 1986) (PL 076777-825)

Exhibit 420 HABC Scattered Sites Assessments, Executive Summary (Jan. 31, 2002) (HA 74791-797)

Exhibit 421 Deed between Mayor and City Council of Baltimore, and Northwest Senior Center, Grantee (May 2, 1988) (PL 077218-223)

Exhibit 422 Deed between Mayor and City Council, Grantor, and Mikva of Baltimore, Grantee (April 26, 1989) (PL 077224-227)

Exhibit 423 Deed between Mayor and City Council of Baltimore, Grantor, and Harry and Jeanette Weinberg Woods, Inc., and Plat (Aug. 7, 1998) (PL 077228-234; PL 77214)

Exhibit 424 Baltimore City Land Disposition Records for Rogene Drive and Ivymount Road (BC 002200-285)

Exhibit 425 Baltimore City Council Ordinance No. 622, The Approval of an Urban Renewal Plan for the Key Highway Area (March 12, 1986) (PL 076915-76918)

Exhibit 426 Land Disposition Agreement between Department of Housing and Community Development and 840 Key Highway Limited Liability Company (Oct. 7, 1998) (PL 076952-7019)

Exhibit 427 Selections from Baltimore City Land Disposition Records 

Exhibit 428 Amendment to Calculation of Total Development Cost, Interim Rule, 58 FR 62522 (Nov. 29, 1993) (HUDBAL 002866-69)

Exhibit 429 Public Housing Total Development Cost, Final Rule, 67 FR 76096 (Dec. 10, 2002) (PL 058433-40)

Exhibit 430 Letter from Paul Graziano to Unabyrd Ervin-Jones, with attachments (May 8, 2002) (HA 69647-87)

Exhibit 431 Letter from Christopher Hornig, HUD, to Daniel Henson, HABC (Sept. 4, 1996) (HUD 17419-21)

Exhibit 432 Letter from Kevin Marchman, HUD, to Estella Alexander, HABC (Dec. 15, 1997) (HUD 13901-13903)

Exhibit 433 Baltimore City Department of Housing and Community Development, Consolidated Plan, July 2000 - June 2005 (HA 62209-393):Part 1Part 2

Exhibit 434 Baltimore Department of Housing and Community Development, Developer's Funding Guide (BW 00436-48)

Exhibit 435 HOPE VI Programs Application, 2001 (PE6 6524-6625)

Exhibit 436 City of Baltimore, Comprehensive Housing Affordability Strategy, 1994-1998 (Dec. 30, 1993) (HA 71784-906)

Exhibit 436A Expert Report of Federal Defendants' Expert Shelley Lapkoff

Exhibit 437 Memorandum from Earl W. Cole to Thomas R. Hobbs, with attachments (Nov. 6, 1980) (HUD 4444-4461)

Exhibit 438 Letter from Thomas P. Perkins to Stanley Campbell (May 6, 1992) (LD 004935-37)

Exhibit 439 HABC Application for a Low-Rent Housing Program (Sept. 1966) (HA 09274-292)

 

Box 12. Exhibits 440 to 480

Exhibit 440 Census News 1990, Baltimore City Department of Planning (July 1992) (PL 079453-62)

Exhibit 441 Baltimore Department of Housing and Community Development, Consolidated Plan, July 2000-June 2005 (HA 62209-62393):Part 1Part 2

Exhibit 441A HUD Office of Policy Development and Research, Public Housing in a Competitive Market: An Example of How it Would Fare (April 1996) (PL 045639-045685)

Exhibit 442 Letter from Daniel Henson, HABC to Harold Lucas, HUD (Aug. 23, 1999) (HUD 06935-06938)

Exhibit 443 Letter from William Tamburrino, HUD to Ainars Rodins, HUD (Aug. 23, 1999) (HUD 09857-09858)

Exhibit 444 Baltimore's Neighborhood Housing Market Typology, City of Baltimore, Department of Planning (May 2002) (Ex. 4 to Conrad Deposition)

Exhibit 445 GAO Report, Information on Receiverships at Public Housing Authorities (Feb. 2003) (PL 91877-91931)

Exhibit 446 Letter from St. George Crosse to Robert Hearn with attached Monitoring Report (Sept. 11, 1989) (HUD 277795-27800)

Exhibit 447 Memorandum from LaVerne Brooks to Harold Young (Mar. 15, 1990) (HUD 27645-27647)

Exhibit 448 Letter from Maxine Saunders, HUD to Robert Hearn, HABC, with attached Monitoring Report (Nov. 13, 1990) (HUD 27709-27787)

Exhibit 449 Letter from Maxine Saunders to Robert Hearn (July 15, 1992) (LD 005745-005747)

Exhibit 450 Letter from Harold Jackson, HUD to Stephen Janes, DHCD (Feb. 27, 1996) (HUDBAL 002537-002539)

Exhibit 451 Letter from Harold Jackson to Daniel Henson with attached Monitoring Review (Dec. 17, 1996) (HUDBAL 003458-003463)

Exhibit 452 Letter from Joseph J. O'Connor, HUD to Daniel P. Henson (Sept. 28, 1998) (HUD 29995-30004)

Exhibit 453 Letter from Joseph O'Conner, HUD to Patricia Payne (March 31, 2000) (HA 74085-74102)

Exhibit 454 Letter from Joseph O'Connor, HUD to Patricia Payne (Sept. 27, 2000) (HUD 30111-30137)

Exhibit 455 Joseph O'Connor, HUD to Paul Graziano (June 11, 2001) (HUD 29986-29994)

Exhibit 456 Memorandum from Charles Halm, HUD to LaVerne Brooks, HUD (Aug. 9, 2002) (HUD 30083-098)

Exhibit 457 Email from LaVerne Brooks to Nathaniel Smith (Feb. 13, 2001) (HUD 11229)

Exhibit 458 Email from William Tamburrino to Milan Ozdinec (March 5, 2001) (HUD 26151)

Exhibit 459 Memorandum from LaVerne Brooks for Wanda Nieves (Aug. 19, 2003) (HUD 36965-981)

Exhibit 460 Letter from Unabyrd Ervin-Jones to Paul Graziano (Nov. 2, 2001) (HUDBAL 033375-77)

Exhibit 461 Letter from Unabyrd Ervin-Jones to Paul Graziano (Feb. 28, 2002) (HUD 29295-96)

Exhibit 462 Office of Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity, U. S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, Fair Housing Planning Guide (March 1996) (PL 067478-067642):Part 1Part 2

Exhibit 463 HABC PHA Plans, Plan for Fiscal Years 2003-2007, Annual Plan for Fiscal Year 2003 (April 8, 2003) (HUD 35137-35313):Part 1Part 2

Exhibit 464 City of Baltimore, Comprehensive Housing Affordability Strategy, 1994-1998 (Dec. 30, 1993) (HA 71784-71906)

Exhibit 465 HUD Funding Received by Local Defendants FY 1995-2003 (drawn from HABC 007214, HA 336697, HA 33636, PL 073861, HUD 35162, HA 34684, HA 34604, HA 34527, HA 34454, HA 34358, MCC 005298-005304, HA 81527, MCC 001601, MCC 002118, HA 62424, HA 62459, HA 62495, HA 62532, HA 62579, and HA 72033).

Exhibit 466 HOPE VI Revitalization Grant Application, HUD (2002) (HUD 29016-29118)

Exhibit 467 Letter from Unabyrd Ervin-Jones to Paul Graziano (April 1, 2003) (HUD 34140-34163)

Exhibit 468 Broadway East Amendment #2, Draft (Apr. 25, 2002) (MCC 005275-82)

Exhibit 469 Draft HABC Disposition Application, BioTech -- Phase II and Vacant Land (undated) (MCC 00455-523)

Exhibit 470 HABC Disposition Application, East Baltimore Redevelopment Project (Oct. 2002) (MCC 000258-454):Part 1Part 2

Exhibit 471 HABC, Scattered Sites and Conventional Statistical Report, 1,630 Non-Viable Units (March 12, 2003) (HUD 34983-34990)

Exhibit 472 Claremont Emergency Move Referrals (HA 82740-82920):Part 1Part 2

Exhibit 473 O'Donnell Heights Master Plan - Final Version (March 2003) (HA 81432-81522)

Exhibit 474 Report of Federal Defendants' Expert William A.V. Clark

Exhibit 475 Housing Authority of Baltimore City, FY 2003 PHA Plan, and Supporting Document 3: Fair Housing Documentation, Baltimore Regional Fair Housing Action Plan (HA 69627-HA 69646)

Exhibit 476 Harold Young, HUD Baltimore Field Office, The Electronic Dispatch, August 2002 (PL 058428-058440 at PL 58428)

Exhibit 477 Paul Graziano to William Tamburrino, August 9, 2001 (HUD 08852)

Exhibit 478 Michael A. Stegman, Assistant Secretary for Policy Development and Research, Forward, Section 8 Rental Voucher and Rental Certificate Utilization Study, October 1994 (PL 070312-PL 070532):Part 1Part 2

Exhibit 479 HUD Office of Policy Development and Research, Issue Brief No. 5, May, 1995, Federal Rental Assistance Should Promote Mobility and Choice (PL 049807-12)

Exhibit 480 HUD Office of Policy Development and Research, Case Studies of Vouchered-Out Assisted Properties, May, 1998 (PL 070944-71322):Part1Part 2,Part 3Part 4

 

Box 13. Exhibits 481-603

Exhibit 481 CitiStat Report, Housing Authority of Baltimore City, May 16, 2003 (HABC 008289-309)

Exhibit 482 HUD, Urban Policy Brief, September, 1994 (PL 051665-74)

Exhibit 483 Robert W. Hearn, HABC to Philip Katzung, Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development, April 8, 1992 (LD 14869-70)

Exhibit 484 "Kramer, Section 8 Concerns," undated (HA 69599)

Exhibit 485 Letter from Unabyrd Ervin-Jones to Patricia J. Payne, 1999 Management Review of Section 8 Programs, February 4, 2000 (HUD 09085)

Exhibit 486 Unabyrd Ervin-Jones to Paul T. Graziano, Final Score Letter, November 29, 2001 (HUD 11553)

Exhibit 487 Unabyrd Ervin-Jones to Paul T. Graziano, April 30, 2003 (HUD 34666-779)

Exhibit 488 Paul Graziano to William Tamburrino, HABC SEMAP Certification, November 5, 2001, Indicator G (HABC 00553, 005573)

Exhibit 489 Gary Markowski, HABC, to Candace Simms, HUD, Section 8 Management Assessment (SEMAP) Certification, August 25, 1999 (HA 24740-51)

Exhibit 490 Letter from Mary Ann Henderson, HUD, to Paul Graziano, HABC, (July 25, 2002) (HUD 30879-30880)

Exhibit 491 Howell Associates Report, Market Factors Impacting the Potential Redevelopment of Hollander Ridge (April 1998) (HUD-02256-2261)

Exhibit 492 Letter from Edwin M. Kahoe, MDOT, to Commissioner Robert C. Embry (Jan. 30, 1973) (HA12453)

Exhibit 493 Letter from Bill Tamburrino to Paul Graziano (February 14, 2003) (HUD35083- 35084)

Exhibit 494 Letter from Bill Tamburrino to Paul Graziano (June 9, 2003) (HUD 35105-06)

Exhibit 495 Letter from R. Ferguson to Laraye Holcomb (June 13, 1994) (PL 041227-28)

Exhibit 496 Letter from Lisa L. Walker to Reverend Charles W. Gilchrist and counsel, October 2, 1998 (BW 00192-93)

Exhibit 497 Letter from Jackie Campbell-Howard, HABC to Sam Tanner, Elite Development Company, June 24, 1999. (BW 00176)

Exhibit 498 Letter from Daniel P. Henson III to H. Bernie Jackson, Associates, November 29, 1999 (BW 00016)

Exhibit 499 Development of 40 Public Housing Units in Non-Impacted Census Tracts, September 24, 1999 Meeting Minutes (BW 00157)

Exhibit 500 Memorandum from Commissioner Patricia J. Payne to Deputy Mayor Laurie Schwartz, HABC 15 Property Board Letter Submittal Summary, October 10, 2000 (BW 00021-22)

Exhibit 501 Executed sales contracts for various properties (BW 00356-00366)

Exhibit 502 Mayor Martin O'Malley to Patricia J. Payne, July 27, 2000 (BW 00029)

Exhibit 503 Memorandum, Commissioner Patricia J. Payne to President and Members of the Board of Estimates, August 14, 2000 (BW 00026-00027.01)

Exhibit 504 Board of Estimates Agenda, September 27, 2000 (BW 00023-24)

Exhibit 505 Deposition of Michael Kramer, March 19, 2003 (Vol. 2) at 310-314 7

Exhibit 506 Executive Summary Thompson v. HUD, Presented to Mayor Martin O'Malley, September 27, 2000 (BW 00073-74)

Exhibit 507 "Eligible DHCD Public Housing Redevelopment Activities thru 10/31/01" (BC 000143)

Exhibit 508 Letter from Paul Graziano to George Eaton, CDA and Letter from Paul Graziano to Harold Young, HUD, January 2, 2001 (BW 00352-53)

Exhibit 509 Letter from Harold D. Young, HUD to Acting Executive Director Denise M. Duval, January 11, 2001 (BW 00350)

Exhibit 510 Letter from Edward G. Landon, HABC to H. Bernie Jackson, BJR Associates, February 5, 2001 (BW 00015)

Exhibit 511 Letter from Paul Graziano to William Tamburrino, September 7, 2001 (HUD 012864)

Exhibit 512 Letter from Barbara Samuels to Thurman W. Zollicoffer, Jr., City Solicitor, January 8, 2001 (BW 00379)

Exhibit 513 Northeast Good Neighbors, Proposal for 40 Homes for Public Housing Families in Non-Traditional Areas of Baltimore City (BW 00300-00303)

Exhibit 514 Letter from Paul Graziano to Caroline Queale, Northeast Good Neighbors, August 21, 2001 (BW 00319)

Exhibit 515 Board of Commissioners Special Meeting Minutes of September 27, 2002 (HA 63015-63019)

Exhibit 516 CPHA Transportation Committee, Access to Jobs in the Baltimore Region (November 1999) (PL 048308-PL 048337)

Exhibit 517 The Job Opportunities Task Force, Baltimore's Choice: Workers and Jobs for a Thriving Economy (January 2003) (PL 073355-PL 07432)

Exhibit 518 Wendy Lucas, HUD Regional Economist, Baltimore County's Eastern Sector, Rental Housing Market Study, (October 27, 1997) (F5:00332)

Exhibit 519 HUD, Opting In: Renewing America's Commitment to Affordable Housing (April 1999) (Ex. 3 to Henderson Deposition)

Exhibit 520 HUD Baltimore HUB, Advisory Letter to FHA-Affiliated Multifamily Projects in the Baltimore Area (July 2002) (Ex. 4 to Henderson Deposition)

Exhibit 521 Letter from Mary Ann Henderson to Paul Graziano (July 25, 2002) (Ex. 5 to Henderson Deposition)

Exhibit 522 Letter from Paul Graziano to William Melvin (August 7, 2002) (Ex. 36 Graziano Deposition)

Exhibit 523 Cherry Hill Homes Tenant Council Proposal for Green House Estates at Fisher's Cove, (April 2002) (PL 085737-40)

Exhibit 524 Letter from Terry Staudenmaier to Reverend Charles W. Gilchrist and counsel (October 7, 1998) (PL 092173-74)

Exhibit 525 Capital Program Analysis: Department of Housing and Community Development, Division of Development Finance, Partnership Rental Housing Program (PL 092344)

Exhibit 526 Notice PIH 99-17, Public Housing Development Total Development Cost (TDC) and Cost Control Policy, Issued March 15, 1999 (PL 092169-72)

Exhibit 527 Public Housing Strategy Riles Baltimore Neighbors, Washington Post, November 9, 2000 (PL 092167-68)

Exhibit 528 Letter from Stephen M. Broache, HABC to Engram Lloyd, HUD (February 13, 2002) (PL 092166)

Exhibit 529 Engram Lloyd to Paul Graziano (July 19, 2002) (PL 092164-65)

Exhibit 530 Letter from Barbara Samuels to Diane Kelleher (July 22, 2002) (PL 092162-63)

Exhibit 531 Letter from Irving P. Marguiles to David O. Maxwell (November 23, 1970) (PL 092175-77)

Exhibit 532 Office of Policy and Development Research, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, The Dynamics of Neighborhood Change, 1975 (PL 092178-241)

Exhibit 533 HUD 1998 Strategic Plan (PL 092242-258) 

Exhibit 535 HUD 1998 Performance Goal Plans (PL 092267-2337)

Exhibit 536 HUD Strategic Plan, FY 1999-2003 (PL 092259-66)

Exhibit 537 Model Cities Agency Comprehensive Demonstration Plan/Summary, 1972 (PL 092150-56)

Exhibit 538 Letter from Daniel Henson to Celestine Gross with attachments (March 9,1995) (LD 013219-24)

Exhibit 539 Civil Rights Division, US Department of Justice, Interagency Survey Report Evaluation of Title VI enforcement at the US Department of Housing and Urban Development September 1977 (ADKER 057221-287)

Exhibit 540 HABC Application for Transfer, Kenya Watkins, August 29, 2000 (HA 84379)

Exhibit 541 Memorandum from Rhonda Van Dyke to the Residential Assistance Section (August 29, 2000) (HA 84391)

Exhibit 542 HABC Applications for Transfer of Residences from O'Donnell Heights, 2003 (HA 82956, HA 82968, HA 82973)

Exhibit 543 Letter from Robert Hearn to Rozina Prince with Attachments (November 11, 1991) (LD 012981-89)

Exhibit 544 HABC Application for Transfer of Residence (August 22,2002) (HA 82329)

Exhibit 545 HABC Application for Transfer of Residence (April 22, 2003) (HA 82295)

Exhibit 546 HABC Application for Transfer of Residence (November 13, 2002) (HA 82294)

Exhibit 547 Letter from Daniel Henson to Margaret Saunders with Attachments (April 13, 1995)(LD 013282-91)

Exhibit 549 Letter from Daniel Henson to Corinthia Harrell with Attachments (April 28, 2002) (LD 013239-44)

Exhibit 550 Maps of Baltimore, Maryland Population by Race, by Census Tract 1940, 1950, 1960, 1970, 1980, 1990, Yale Rabin (PL 092338-43)

Exhibit 551 Maps and Key, Baltimore's Neighborhood Housing Market Typology, May 2002 (PL 092144-49)

Exhibit 552 Management Assistance Program: City Survey and Work Program Report for the City of Baltimore, MD, Westinghouse Public Management Services, February 1972 (PL 092157-61)

Exhibit 553 Henson Emails (HA 86781.003, 008, 028, 031, 034, 038-041, 056, 062-075, 078, 107, 109-012)

Exhibit 554 Letter from Unabyrd Ervin-Jones to Paul Graziano (May 9, 2003) (HUD 33731)

Exhibit 555 Letter from Unabyrd Ervin-Jones to Paul Graziano, with attached Confirmatory Review (Feb. 6, 2003) (HUD34744-34786)

Exhibit 556 Letter from Unabyrd Ervin-Jones to Paul Graziano (April 1, 2003) (HUD 33987-88)

Exhibit 557 Memorandum from LaVerne Brooks to Unabyrd Ervin-Jones, HABCPHA Annual Plan for FY 2003 (May 29, 2003) (HUD 31589-97)

Exhibit 559 Letter from Unabyrd Ervin-Jones , HUD, to Paul T. Graziano, HABC (October 29, 2003) (HUD 39028-29)

Exhibit 561 Kerner Commission Report (excerpts) (PL 093105-093197)

Exhibit 562 Racial Segregation in the 2000 Census: Promising News By Edward L. Glaeser and Jacob L. Vigdor (April 2001) Exhibit 4 to Clark Deposition

Exhibit 563 Subsidized Housing and Neighborhood Racial Transition: An Empirical Investigation, by Lance Freeman and William Rohe, Housing Policy Debate, Vol. 11, Issue 1 (PL 092551-092573)

Exhibit 564 Assisted Housing and Residential Segregation, by William Rohe and Lace Freeman, APA Journal, Vol. 67, No. 3 (Summer 2001) (FDE4 00435-00448)

Exhibit 565 Jordan D. Luttrell, The Public Housing Administration and Discrimination in Federally Assisted Low-Rent Housing, Michigan Law Review, 64:871-889 (March 1996) (FDE4 00416- FDE 00434)

Exhibit 566 David J. Armor & William A.V. Clark, Forced Justice: School Desegregation and the Law (Oxford 1995) (FDE 00352-FDE 00373)

Exhibit 567 Cassandra W. Gottlieb, The Effect of Site Selection Policies and Practices on the Success and Failure of the Federal Public Housing Program: The Case of Baltimore, Johns Hopkins University Center for Metropolitan Planning Research (1975) (FDE4 00476-00499; FDE4 00133-00218)

Exhibit 568 Edward Goetz, Sandtwon-Winchester, Baltimore: Housing as Community Housing and Urban Redevelopment in the United Stats, in W. Van Vliet (ed.) Affordable Housing and Urban Redevelopment in the United States (1996) (PL 092999-093021)

Exhibit 569 Charles M. Christian and Lenneal Henderson, Race Relations and Racial Opportunity in Baltimore: From City to Region (2000) (PL 093022-093104)

Exhibit 571 Letter from Van Storey Branch to R. C. Embry (March 22, 1974) and related materials (PL 30467-30480)

Exhibit 572 Memorandum from Van Story Branch to R. C. Embry, Progress Report for Used House Program (Turnkey I - Rehabilitation) (November 20, 1963) (HA 16901-16910)

Exhibit 573 Letter from Lower Park Heights Coordinating Council to George Romney (undated) (HA 09899-09905)

Exhibit 574 Memorandum of Understanding for the Demonstration Program for Low Income Conventional Public Housing Rehabilitation (1167-1184)

Exhibit 575 Memorandum from Eugene Feinblatt, Some Thoughts on Public Housing (Nov. 1, 1965) (HA22806-22807)

Exhibit 576 Memorandum from Eugene Feinblatt to Commissioners of BURHA, New Directions in Low and Moderate Income Housing (Nov. 22, 1966) (HA 22810-22812)

Exhibit 577 Regional Planning Council Report, Housing Production 1975 (PL 044199-044213)

Exhibit 578 HUD Low-Rent Housing Manual, Site Selection and Approval (August 1968) (PL 036116-036134)

Exhibit 579 HUD Low-Rent Housing Manual, Excerpts (Feb. 1967) (PL 36136-37)

Exhibit 580 Welfare Dilemma, Baltimore Business Journal (Sept. 27 - Oct. 3, 1996) (PL 056266-67)

Exhibit 581 Where the Poor Live, Regional Economic Studies Institute, Towson State University (undated) (PL 055110)

Exhibit 582 Letter from Robert Ferguson to LaRaye Holcomb (June 13, 1964) (PL 006549)

Exhibit 583 Email from Unabyrd Ervin-Jones to George C. Hendricks and related emails re. HABC Section 8 (Oct. 24, 2001) (HUD 11131-11146)

Exhibit 584 Baltimore Metropolitan Council, County-to-County Commuting Flows in the Baltimore Region, 2000 (Mar. 13, 2003) (PL 092488-09499)

Exhibit 585 Email from Milan Ozdinec to William Tamburrino and related emails regarding HUD funding to HABC (July 31, 2000) (HUD 11242-11248)

Exhibit 586 Letter from Bill Tamburrino, HUD to Paul Graziano, HABC (Feb. 14, 2003) (HUD 35083-35084)

Exhibit 587 Letter from Bill Tamburrino, HUD to Paul Graziano, HABC (June 9, 2003) (HUD 35105-6)

Exhibit 588 USGAO Report, Public Housing, HUD's Oversight of HOPE VI Sites Needs to Be More Consistent (May 2003) (PL 092346-092487)

Exhibit 589 Memorandum of Understanding, Project No. MD 2-69 (1370-1374)

Exhibit 590 Letter from M. J. Brodie to Everett H. Rothschild, HUD, with attachments (May 3, 1978) (HUDBAL 003970-004005)

Exhibit 591 Letter from Frantz J. Vidor to Allen Clapp, HUD with attached letter from the Mass Transit Administration to Robert Embry dated January 30, 1973 (Jan. 31, 1973) (HA 12456)

Exhibit 592 Executive Order 12892 (Jan. 17, 1994) (PL 092574-092577)

Exhibit 593 HUD Press Release, with attached Memorandum of Understanding (Aug. 14, 2000) (PL 085602,086536-37)

Exhibit 594 Moving to Opportunity, Interim Impacts Evaluation, Final Report (June 2003) (HUD 36232-36583): part 1part 2part 3

Exhibit 595 Deposition of William Tamburrino (11/21/02) at 161-167 (PL 092578-092584)

Exhibit 596 Market Factors Impacting the Potential Redevelopment of Hollander Ridge, MD, Prepared by Howell Associates, Inc. (April 1998) (HUD 02256-02308)

Exhibit 597 Letter from J.J. Brodie, HABC to Thomas Hobbs, HUD, with attachmented Statement of Policies and Standards (Oct. 16, 1979) (HUD 00866-00904)

Exhibit 598 Letter from Robert Hearn, HABC to Maxine Saunders, HUD, with attached Statement of Policy (Oct. 2, 1990) (HUD 02877-02895)

Exhibit 599 HABC, Statement of Policies and Standards Governing Admissions to and Occupancy of Low-Income Public Housing Operated by HABC (June 17, 1997) (HA 49221-49236)

Exhibit 600 HABC, Statement of Policies and Standards Governing Admissions to and Occupancy of Low-Income Public Housing Operated by HABC (Aug. 17, 1999) (HA 43187-43279)

Exhibit 601 Report, Baltimore, by the Mayor's Council on City Living, Paul Graziano and Jim Piper (Feb. 4, 2003) (PL 092585-092637)

Exhibit 602 Letter from Unabyrd Ervin-Jones, HUD to Paul Graziano, HABC (Nov. 29, 2001) (HUD 11553-11554)

Exhibit 603 Letter from Unabyrd Ervin-Jones, HUD to Paul Graziano, HABC (April 30, 2003) (HUD 34666-34669)

 

Box 14. Exhibits

Exhibit 604 Costs and Utilization in the Housing Choice Voucher Program, HUD PD&R (July 2003) (PL 092638-092745)

Exhibit 605 Revitalizing and Rebuilding the City of Baltimore, Martin O'Malley, Mayor and Paul Graziano, Commissioner (PL 092746-092933): part 1part 2

Exhibit 606 Draft Report, The Subsidized Senior Housing Rental Market in Baltimore City, Office of Research and Strategic Planning, DHCD, City of Baltimore (June 2003) (HA 86820-86861)

Exhibit 607 Eligible DHCD Public Housing Redevelopment Activities thru 10/31/01 (BC 000143)

Exhibit 608 Housing Choice for HOPE VI Relocatees, The Urban Institute (April 2002) (PL 092934-092998)

Exhibit 609 The Locator, HUD Maryland State Office Guide to Federally Assisted Rental Housing (April 2001) (HUD 01758-01829)

Exhibit 610 Peter Henderson, Local Deals and the New Deal State, Implementing Federal Public Housing in Baltimore, 1933-1968 (1993) (PL 007931-008499):part 1,part 2part 3part 4part 5

Exhibit 611 Letter from Martin O'Malley, Third District City Council, to Daniel Henson, HABC (Nov. 2, 1995) (LD 004789)

Exhibit 612 Email from William Tamburrino to Phyllis Smelkinson (Mar. 15, 1996) (HUDBAL 026484-485)

Exhibit 613 Meeting Notes - March 4, 1996 (HUDBAL 026486-489)

Exhibit 614 Memorandum from Madeline Hastings for Bruce Katz, Baltimore/Patterson Park, with attached report (Feb. 20, 1996) (HUDBAL 026503-509)

Exhibit 615 Rebuttal Expert Report of Karl Taeuber 

Exhibit 616 Rebuttal Expert Report of Arnold Hirsch 

Exhibit 620 Baltimore City CAPER, July 1, 2001-June 30, 2002 (HUD 37432-37628):Part 1Part 2

Exhibit 621 Email from Elinor Bacon to Deborah Vincent (Aug. 12, 1998) (HUD 26884-26885)

Exhibit 622 Letter from Daniel Henson, HABC to Deborah Vincent, HUD (March 29, 1999) (HUD 20570-20575)

Exhibit 623 Memorandum from Harry Staller, Deputy Regional Administrator, HUD to Michael Janis, General Deputy Assistant, HUD, Re Additional Information, Demolition/Disposition Request with accompanying documents and handwritten notes (May 15, 1990) (HUD 19970-19976)

Exhibit 624 HCD Notice, Former SchoolHouse Available for Redevelopment, 511 Bond Street, Fells Point Urban Renewal Area (PL 092345)

Exhibit 625 Map, HABC Scattered Sites by Neighborhood HA 00522, contained within Hugh-Rise Modernization Task Force document (HA00509-00535)

Exhibit 626 Memorandum from Suzanne Graham to Theo Rogers, Hollander Ridge residential Redevelopment (March 3, 1998), with attached Preliminary Report, Hollander Ridge Residential Redevelopment Market Feasibility Analysis (Feb. 20, 1998) ( Pl's Ex. 110, Hollander Ridge) (MV 001584-001641)

Exhibit 627 Email from Estella Alexander to Leslie Barrow with attachment (Oct. 13, 2000) (HA 86728.001-007)

Exhibit 628   Public Housing and Areas of Minority Concentration Maps (1940-2000)

Exhibit 629  Misc. Maps (1970-2003)

Exhibit 630  Misc. Maps (1998-2001)

Exhibit 760 Plaintiff's Proposed Order on Remedy (Filed 2/21/2006)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip