This is the "Home" page of the "University Archives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

University Archives   Tags: archives, history, special_collections  

University Archives, Publications, Yearbooks, Theses and Dissertations
Last Updated: Nov 26, 2013 URL: http://ubalt.libguides.com/sc_ubdocs Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Mission and Collection Information

The Mission of the University Archives:

The University Archives selects, preserves, and makes accessible records of enduring administrative, fiscal, legal, and historic value to the University of Baltimore, and provides services to support the administrative, teaching, research, and service interests of the University.

To this end, the university archivist will:

  • Select, appraise, preserve, and make accessible records of enduring value created by the University
  • Provide information services to support University administrators in their duties
  • Support research and teaching by encouraging use of the collection by the University community and the public
  • Promote knowledge and understanding of the history, impact, programs, and goals of the University
  • Offer records management consulting services to the University


University Archives Collection Development

Collection Focus

The University Archives selects, preserves, and makes accessible records of enduring administrative, fiscal, legal, and historic value to the University of Baltimore.

Definition of University Records

A University Record is any information regardless of physical form or characteristics, which serves to document the organization, functions, policies, or other activities of the University. Any record produced or received by any agency or employee of the university in the transaction of University business becomes University property.

Selection Criteria for Collecting University Records

Only a small percentage of the documentation generated by the University has enduring archival value and is appropriate for transfer to the Archives. The transfer of university records is managed via transfer agreements developed by the office in question and the university archivist. Responsibility for managing active records resides with the office that generates or receives the records.

UB in Brief

Eubie

The University of Baltimore was founded in 1925 as a private institution by civic leaders who wanted to provide low-cost, part-time evening study in business and law for working adults. Its first site was at the southeast corner of St. Paul and Mt. Vernon Place.

The campus soon moved north to Howard St., and it later migrated further north in midtown to its present location on Mt. Royal Ave.  A Junior College opened in 1937, joining the Schools of Business and Law, and evolved into a four-year Liberal Arts College from 1959 to 1961.

In 1975, UB became a public institution and an upper-division university and began eliminating its freshman and sophomore classes, inter-collegiate athletics and other extracurricular activities such as the yearbook.  In 1982, the business school became the Robert G. Merrick School of Business and the liberal arts college became the Yale Gordon College of Liberal Arts. 

In 1988, UB fell under the governance of the Maryland Board of Regents, and became a part of what is now known as the University System of Maryland. Lower-division students returned in 2007 and the College of Public Affairs was established in 2010.

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip