Recommendations on books, articles, websites, and information on oral history collections in Langsdale Library
Last Updated: Jun 7, 2016
Eleven oral history collections are housed on the 4th floor of Langsdale Library, along with 126 other unique archival collections in the Special Collections department. In addition to recorded interviews, these collections sometimes include typewritten transcriptions, biographical summaries of interviewees, interview time tables, and photographs donated by interveiwees.
To visit the archives, please schedule an appointment by clicking the "Research Request Form" link below and completing the form online.
(In order to complete the form, you will need to provide information about the collection you would like to use.)
- Baltimore Neighborhood Heritage Project (BNHP)
A collection of 234 interviews, conducted between 1977 and 1982, with longtime residents of 7 Baltimore neighborhoods (Highlandtown, Hampden, Park Heights, Little Italy, South Baltimore, Old West Baltimore and East Baltimore) and with workers from the Port of Baltimore.
- Baltimore Sixty-Eight Riots Collection (BSR)
66 interviews produced in 2006 by UB undergraduates with a racially and economically diverse group of informants regarding their experiences of the urban disturbances of April 1968.
- Baltimore Voices Company (BVC)
171 interviews are organized around specific themes, including labor, education, and community organizing. As an outgrowth of the Baltimore Neighborhood Heritage Project, the Baltimore Voices Company conducted interviews in order to create a theatrical production that was performed throughout the city in 1980.
- East Baltimore Oral History (EBOH)
Collection of 12 interviews with East Baltimore community activists and longtime residents, conducted by UB students in 1997.
- Jo Ann Robinson Research Files (GW)
11 interview sessions with Gertrude Williams, conducted in between February and June of 1999, by Jo Anne Robinson for her book, "Education As My Agenda: Gertrude Williams, Race, and the Baltimore Public Schools."
- Negro League Oral History (NLOH)
Collection of 8 interviews conducted in 1998 by UB students working on an exhibit for the Babe Ruth Birthplace Museum.
- People’s Community Health Center Oral History (PCH)
Collection of 17 interviews conducted in 2011 by UB students. The project documents the history of the Center, originally known as The People's Free Medical Clinic.
- Penn-North Oral History (NA)
16 interviews were conducted in 1986 about the experiences of living, working, and patronizing businesses along North Avenue. Interview questions included.
- Reservoir Hill Oral History (RHOH)
6 oral history interviews conducted in 2010 by UB students. The project investigates residents' perspectives on living in Reservoir Hill during the 1950s and 1960s.
- Station North Oral History (SNOH)
Collection of 10 interviews conducted between 2012 and 2013 by Aiden Faust. The project documents collective ownership of the Cork Factory and the development of the Station North Arts and Entertainment District in Baltimore City.
- Stone Hill in Hampden Collection (SHH)
The 47 interviews in this collection were conducted by Guy Hollyday between 1987 and 1993 as background research for his book, "Stone Hill: The People and Their Stories." Audio clips from the interviews are available on the project website.
Special Collections, Rm. 418
University of Baltimore
1415 Maryland Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21201
website: Special Collections
Many of the interviews in our collections were recorded on audio cassettes 25-35 years ago. As they have aged, these tapes have become extremely fragile.
Archivists in Special Collections are currently in the process of transferring interviews to digital format in order to preserve the recordings.
If you are interested in listening to any of our recordings, please schedule an appointment prior to visiting Special Collections. This provides our staff time to prepare a listening copy of the requested interview(s) on CD-R for your research use.