Welcome!
This guide was created for ENGL 200. Click on a tab above for information on locating and accessing online and print resources from Langsdale Library and beyond.
Comments (0)
Finding Book Reviews
Reviews and Literary Criticism in Magazines and Journals
-
Humanities International Complete (EBSCO) [on-campus]
Humanities International Complete is an essential collection for comprehensive coverage of the humanities with some full text content. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 770 journals. -
JSTOR
[on-campus]
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years. -
Literature
Resource Center [on-campus]
[help]
Coverage: varies. Includes the series Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), and Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB) and full-text articles from 34 literary journals. -
MLA
International Bibliography [on-campus]
Provides indexing of over 4,000 journals and series. Also indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Includes links to full text of selected journal articles.
Literary Criticism in Books
-
WorldCat Local
WorldCat contains book titles and some tables of contents (as well as some journals articles). Note that you may find crtical essays about certain authors or book titles, if they appear as the title of the entire book or in the title of a chapter. If you are looking for essays about a specific book, it may be helpful to just search for the author in the "title" field, so you find any books or chapters about that specific author. Some of those chapters will probably include remarks on several different works on the author, but you might not be able to tell which ones from the catalog record. Sometimes you need to get the book and look at it.
Book Reviews in Newspapers
-
National
Newspapers (NA5) with Washington Post [on-campus]
Coverage: Varies with each title back to 1984. Full text of 5 newspapers: Baltimore Sun , Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition and the Washington Post. - For books written before 1984, make sure to check the Historical Newspapers
- [Historical] Baltimore Sun [on-campus] [help]
Includes complete issues of The Baltimore Sun,cover to cover from 1837 to 1985. Search by keyword, more than 20 article types, date ranges, specific dates, author, and more. View news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, and more for added context. Print and download articles and images in PDF format.- New York Times Historical Coverage (Proquest) [on-campus]
The New York Times (1851-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Coverage: Sept 18,1851-Dec 31, 2003- Washington Post Historical Coverage (Proquest) [on-campus]
The Washington Post (1877-1990) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Coverage: Dec 12, 1877-Dec 31, 1990
Ask a Librarian?
Phone: 410-837-4274
Toll Free: 1-888-LANGREF
Email:langref@ubalt.edu
AIM: Send a message to AIM ScreenName: UBLangsdale
If you already have an AIM client, you can click below to start your session
My Profile |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Information Arts & Technologies |



Loading...
