Skip to main content

Public Administration

Guide to resources for government, public policy, and public administration.

Library Session Materials

PUAD 757- Ron Richardson - February 5, 2011

Resources for students creating a business plan for a new health care business or service.


Class Session Materials (Feb. 2011):

Business Plan Samples and Resources

Online Business Plans:


Business Plan Books in the Library

  • Harmer, W. H. (1999). Business plans handbook. Detroit: Gale. (Langsdale Reference XHD62.7.B865 1999)

  • Timmons, J.A. (2004). Business plans that work. New York: McGraw-Hill. (Langsdale HD30.28.T5766 2004)

  • Rogoff, E.G. (2004). Bankable business plans. New York: Thomson. (Langsdale HD30.28.R65 2004)

Industry Sources and Trends

Use the following tools to research trends and the general state of the market segment for the health care business or service you're proposing.


Key Resources:

Census Bureau:

  • North American Industry Classification System (NAICS).
    (http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/naics.html)
    Searchable guide to the industry codes used by the U.S. government. NAICS codes are very specific, and can be used in many business information sources.
  • Economic Census.
    (http://www.census.gov/econ/census/)
    Detailed portrait of the nation's economy every five years. National, state, and local information available.
  • County Business Patterns.
    (http://www.census.gov/epcd/cbp/view/cbpview.html)
    Industry data by county/city/zip code.

Business Source Premier [on-campus] [help]

This database is primarily an index to business journals. It does include lots of great industry surveys, however. To get to the industry surveys, go to the Refine Search section at the bottom of the search screen and select Publication Type: Industry Profile. Then type the name of your industry in the search box at top, and hit search.

Additional Resources:

Census Bureau's Current Industrial Reports.
(http://www.census.gov/cir/www/)

Current statistical profiles of large industries. Focuses on manufacturing and construction.

Mintel Market Reports [on-campus]

Mintel provides access to hundreds of reports on a variety of European, UK-specific and US consumer markets. Each report that Mintel publishes provides a unique overview of a market including its dynamics and prospects. Visitors to the website can search by keyword or browse for relevant publications by 'category'.
Note that academic users of this site must first agree to the academic conditions of use. Then you must create and sign in using a profile consisting of an email address and a password before you can see the reports that are available.

Annual Statement Studies. (2005). Risk Management Association (formerly Robert Morris and Associates). (Langsdale Reference Desk XHF 5681 .B2 R6)

Plunkett, J. W. (2000). Plunkett's health care industry almanac 2001-2002. Houston: Plunkett Research. (Langsdale Reference Desk XRA 410.53 .P56 2001-2002).

Standard & Poor's industry surveys (2006). New York: Standard & Poor's. (Langsdale Reference Desk X HC106.6 .S74 2001)

Research Companies

Use the following tools to research possible competitors (or institutional customers) for the health care business or service you're proposing.


Key Resources:

ReferenceUSA [on-campus]

Coverage: Current. Provides directory, sales and employee size information for more than 12 million businesses in the U.S.
Guidestar. http://www2.guidestar.org/
Profiles of nonprofit organizations, pulled from IRS forms and annual statements. Free registration is required.
Mergent Online [on-campus] [help]
Coverage: Current. Mergent Online contains the electronic versions of the Mergent (formerly Moody's) Manuals (Industrial, OTC, Banking and Finance, and International), covering over 10,000 U.S. companies and thousands for foreign companies. The financial data for most companies covers 15 years. Industry reports are included.


Additional Resources:

Business and Company Resource Center [on-campus] [help]
Coverage: 1979 - present. Profiles 400,000 companies. Provides company histories, business articles, industry rankings and analyses for selected public companies.
Hoover's Company Records [on-campus] [help]
Coverage: 2002-current. Find in-depth company information on over 5,000 companies with Hoover's Company Records. Each profile provides an overview and history, as well as as information on key people, products, subsidiaries and competitors.
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission's EDGAR reports
Forms and reports that all public companies must file with the U.S. government. Most of the company financial information found in other services and databases comes from these reports.
Foundation Center's 990 Finder.
Search for tax forms filed by nonprofit organizations.

Research Customers

Use the following tools to research end user demographics and consumer spending trends for the health care business or service you're proposing.


Key Resources: Census Bureau's American FactFinder
Entry point to the Census Bureaus' massive website of demographic statistics. Should be a first stop for any demographic search.
Census Bureau's Statistical Abstract of the United States
Statistics on nearly every aspect of American life: population, education, the economy, travel, etc. Available online or in print. (Langsdale Reference Desk C 3.134:)
Centers for Disease Control's Health, United States
This annual report from the CDC covers statistics on health, health economics, and disease.
Baltimore Neighborhood Indicators Alliance
This website includes a lot of data about the state of Baltimore neighborhoods. Click on "Vital Signs" for lists of reported problems (including health issues, racial diversity, complaints) by neighborhood. Click on "Maps" to see the Interactive Mapping System (vital signs information depicted on a map).

Additional Resources: Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Employment, wages, prices & consumer spending, etc. National, state, and local.
Census Bureau's County and City Data Book.
Population and commerce statistics by city, county, and state.
Demographics USA County Edition (2000). New York: Market Statistics. (Langsdale Reference XHF 5437 .S32). Related title for prior years: Survey of Buying Power.

Household spending: Who spends how much on what [e-book]. (2010), by the editors of New Strategist Publications, Inc. Ithaca, NY

Lifestyle market analyst (2000). Des Plaines, IL: SRDS. (Langsdale Reference: X HF5905 .S729)

MarketResearch.com
Detailed, specific marketing reports. Users must purchase these reports, and they are expensive.
Magazines & News
You can do the research yourself, by searching through business journals and magazines. This can be very inexpensive, but time-consuming and sporadic.
Maryland State Data Center.

Maryland Statistical Abstract. (2003).Towson, MD: RESI. (Langsdale Reference Desk XHA 421 .M42 2003)

Regional economic indicators (2000). Baltimore: Baltimore Metropolitan Council. (Langsdale Reference Desk X HC108 .B35 E4 2001)

Rand McNally commercial atlas and marketing guide (2001). Chicago: Rand McNally. (Langsdale Reference Atlas Stand X HF1023 .R19)

Journal and Magazine Articles

Use these electronic databases to search for journal and magazine articles from the industry about businesses or services like the one you are proposing.


ABI Inform [on-campus] [help]

Coverage: 1970 - present. Indexes more than 1,300 journals on business, management, with 75% full-text. Subject: Business

Academic Search Premier [on-campus] [help]

Coverage: 1990 - present. Provides full-text for over 3,400 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education, sciences, and more. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL). Need help? Read the Academic Search Premier Visual Guide. Subject: General

Business Source Premier [on-campus] [help]

Coverage: Varies– present. Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. Includes company profiles, many of which contain SWOT analyses. Subject: Business

CINAHL [on-campus] [help]

Coverage: 1982 – present. Indexes/abstracts nursing and allied health literature. Subject: Medicine

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition [on-campus] [help]

Coverage: 1990 - present. Searchable full-text for nearly 580 journals and abstracts and indexing for over 615 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications. Now includes Clinical Reference Systems. Subject: Medicine

Medline [on-campus] [help]

Coverage: 1966 – present. Indexes/abstracts more than 3,200 journals from the biomedical field. Subject: Medicine

Other Sources

General Sources:

Advertising World. http://advertising.utexas.edu/world/

Alreck, P. L. (2004). The survey research handbook. Boston: McGraw-Hill/Irwin. (Langsdale Reference XHN29 .A46 2004)

Cohen, W. A. (2005). The marketing plan. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley. (Langsdale Reference XHF5415.13 .C6348 2005)

Consumer magazine advertising source (2002). Des Plaines, IL: SRDS. (Langsdale Reference XHF 5905 .S725)

Fedstats.
http://www.fedstats.gov
Gateway to statistics from most branches of the U.S. government.

Hiebling, R.G. (2003). The successful marketing plan: a disciplined and comprehensive approach. New York: McGraw-Hill. (Langsdale: HF5415.13 .H523 2003)

KnowThis.com: Knowledge Source for Marketing. http://www.knowthis.com/

Marketing Power - American Marketing Association. http://www.marketingpower.com/

Live Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Email: LangRef
Phone: 410-837-4274
Toll Free: 1-888-LANGREF (526-4733)

Make an appointment with a librarian
(select the research support schedule)