LibGuides: Public Policy: Key Resources

Recommended Starting Points

Ebsco Discovery Service (EDS)
What you’ll find here: EDS is our largest and most comprehensive database, with information from a large variety of sources and content in all disciplines. It covers materials contained in most of our other article databases, as well as books in the library catalog. If you don;t know where to start, this is the best choice.
How to search this database: Look at the EBSCOhost help page.

Google Scholar
This link to Google should add FINDIt#UB links when the full text is available through RLB. Use "Cited by" feature to find more articles.

PolicyMap
What you’ll find here: a U.S. national data and mapping tool allowing users to create custom demographic maps, tables, and reports. Available data includes demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, school performance scores, labor data such as unemployment, and crime statistics, such as city crime rates. Use PolicyMap to create compelling maps of up to five layers, export trend charts with key benchmarks, download data for use in other tools, generate on-the-fly reports, and upload your own data to view it with ours.
How to search this database: Visit the PolicyMap Tutorial Page.
Check out this Video and Guide QuickStart Video and Guide
WorldCat
What you’ll find here: A comprehensive catalog of books, journals, dissertations, and many other materials from libraries worldwide. Member institutions, which number more than 10,000, add their holdings to WorldCat so people can access either through Interlibrary Loan or in person. If you cannot find something at the RLB Library, you may be able to find it at another area library. The RLB Library's catalog automatically searches WorldCat, so you’ll get results worldwide along with the RLB Library's holdings.
How to search this database: Visit the WorldCat help page.

Other Key Resources

Nexis Uni
This database has replaced LexisNexis Academic, with the same access to: Magazine, newspaper, and journal articles and information on various people, businesses, and countries. It also contains federal and state codes and case law. It features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
How to search this database: Visit the Nexis Uni help page.
Public Affairs Index
What you’ll find here: Journal and trade publication articles, conference papers, and government documents exploring contemporary issues that governments and other entities around the world are dealing with. A lot of effort goes into keeping the database up to date with current information.
How to search this database: Look at the EBSCOhost help page.
SocINDEX with Full Text
What you’ll find here: Journal articles, books, and conference papers focusing on sociology and sociological issues. These include criminology, religion, politics, family studies, anthropology, and more.
How to search this database: Look at the EBSCOhost help page.
ABI/INFORM Global
What you’ll find here: Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles that focus on business, management, government and public policy. This is a great resource if you’re looking for news and trends, company financial information, or management practice and theory.
How to search this database: Look at the ProQuest help page.

Congress.gov

Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service. (from website).

Next: Books >>